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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

CORPORATE MOVING SYSTEMS, 

INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

DOCKET TV-140952 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $200 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers.  The forms included 

a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees 

by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In 

the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  

RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Corporate Moving Systems did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not 

made that filing by May 15.  On June 4, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 

against Corporate Moving Systems, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 

to May 15. 

 

3 On May 27, 2014, Corporate Moving Systems filed its annual report and paid both its 

regulatory and late payment fees. 

 

4 On June 11, 2014, Corporate Moving Systems responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment and requested mitigation based on the written information 

provided.  The Company’s Controller explained that he replaced an employee who 

recently retired, and it took him some time to review the Company’s records and 

ensure the information required for its annual report was correct. The Company 

provided assurances that future reports will be timely filed.  
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5 On June 25, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $200 because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 480-15-480. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its 

annual report was timely filed, regardless of staff turnover.   

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including a company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly 

corrected, and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  This is Corporate Moving 

Systems’ first violation of WAC 480-15-480, and the Company filed its annual report 

and paid its regulatory and late fees prior to receiving a penalty.  In addition, the 

Company has been regulated since 1999; given its history of compliance, the 

violation is not likely to recur.  In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise 

its discretion to reduce the penalty to $200.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Corporate Moving Systems, Inc. for mitigation of the $1,000 

penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $200.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than July 28, 2014. 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 14, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 


