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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

TELECOM NORTH AMERICA, INC. 

 

in the amount of $200 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

)

) 

DOCKET UT-140918 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING 

MITIGATION TO $50 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-120-382.  On 

February 28, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated 

telecommunications companies.  The forms included a reminder that companies must 

file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Telecom North America filed its annual report on May 5, 2014, with no regulatory fee 

due.  On June 2, the Commission assessed a penalty of $200 against American Phone 

Services, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 5, for failing to file 

an annual report by May 1.   

 

3 On June 30, 2014, Telecom North America responded to the Commission’s penalty 

assessment admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on 

the written information provided.  The Company explained that it inadvertently 

overlooked the May 1 deadline, believing the report need only be postmarked by May 

1.  The Company noted that it has no previous violations for late filed reports, and 

provided assurances of future compliance.    

 

4 On July 11, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $50, because this is the Company’s first late filing since it 

registered with the Commission in 2002. 
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have taken measures 

to ensure its annual report was received by May 1, particularly given the 

Commission’s reminders.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a mitigation request, including 

whether a company promptly corrected the violation at issue, a company’s past 

compliance with commission rules, and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  This 

is Telecom North America’s first violation of WAC 480-120-382, and the Company 

promptly corrected the violation by filing its annual report prior to receiving a 

penalty.  In addition, the Company has been regulated since 2002; given its history of 

compliance, the violation is not likely to recur.  The Commission will therefore 

exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $50.  

 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

 

7 (1) The request of Telecom North America, Inc. for mitigation of the $200 penalty 

is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $50.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than August 1, 2014. 

  

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 18, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

       Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 

 


