[Service Date July 8, 2014]
BEFORE THE WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment ) DOCKET UT-140897
Against )

) ORDER 01
LOCAL ACCESS LLC )

) ORDER GRANTING
in the amount of $1,000 ) MITIGATION TO $200

BACKGROUND

Washington law requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual
reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-120-382. On
February 28, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated
telecommunications companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must
file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face
penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing
violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.

Local Access LLC did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not made
that filing by May 15. On May 30, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000
against Local Access LLC, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to
May 15.

On June 4, 2014, Local Access LLC paid the $1,000 penalty. The Company filed its
annual report on June 6; because it did not conduct business in Washington in 2013,
no regulatory fee was owed.

On June 9, 2014, Local Access LLC responded to the Commission’s penalty
assessment admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on
the written information provided. The Company explained that it relied on a third
party vendor to file its annual report. When the vendor was unable to provide the
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Company with proof of filing, the Company terminated its business relationship with
the vendor. The Company provided assurances of timely filings going forward.

On June 20, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty
reduction to $200. Staff explained that the Company became registered in
Washington on August 14, 2013, and this is its first delinquent filing.

DISCUSSION

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation to reduce the penalty, but on
different grounds. The basis for Staff’s recommendation — that this is the Company’s
first delinquent filing — is unpersuasive; this was the Company’s first and only
opportunity to timely file, and it did not. Companies are ultimately responsible for
complying with their legal obligations, regardless of the actions of their agents.

The Commission considers a number of factors when entertaining a request for
mitigation, including whether the company promptly corrected the violations, the
likelihood that the violations will recur, and a company’s annual intrastate revenue.’
Ultimately, the Commission’s goal is to gain compliance going forward. Here, the
Company promptly remedied the violation by filing its annual report, and has reduced
the likelihood of recurrence by terminating its relationship with the vendor who failed
to file on its behalf. Although the Company reported no intrastate revenue for 2013,
we are unwilling to mitigate the penalty in its entirety. The Commission is, however,
satisfied with the Company’s representations of future compliance, and will therefore
exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $200.

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1)  The request of Local Access LLC for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is
GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $200.

! Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission (January 7, 2013).
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(2)  The Commission will refund $800 of the $1,000 payment Local Access LLC
made on June 4, 2014.

The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 8, 2014.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary
for decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision
is posted on the Commission’s website. The Commission will grant a late-filed
request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory
explanation of why the person did not timely file the request. A form for late-
filed requests is available on the Commission’s website.



