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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

MONTERRA, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

DOCKET UW-140849 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $175 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-110-505.  On February 28, 2014, 

the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed 

annual report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated water companies.  The forms 

included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of 

Commission rules.  In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a 

separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Monterra did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014.  On May 29, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $800 against Monterra, calculated as $100 per business day 

from May 1 to May 13, the date the Company’s report was received. 

 

3 On June 3, 2014, Monterra responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written 

information provided.  The Company explained that it recently hired a new 

accountant, and the timing requirements for the annual report filing were not 

communicated to the new employee.  The Company took full responsibility for the 

error and noted its history of timely filings.   

 

4 On August 6, 2014, Monterra remitted an $800 payment to the Commission. 
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5 On August 12, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a 

penalty reduction to $25 per day, or $175.  Staff noted that the Company has been 

active since 1991, and had one violation of WAC 480-110-505 in 2006. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-110-505 requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should have been aware of the need to 

timely file an annual report, and trained its new staff accordingly. 

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including a company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly 

corrected, and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  This is Monterra’s first 

violation of WAC 480-110-505 in more than five years, and the Company filed its 

annual report and paid its regulatory fee prior to receiving a penalty.  In addition, the 

Company has been regulated since 1991; given its overall history of compliance, the 

violation is not likely to recur.  In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise 

its discretion to reduce the penalty to $175. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Monterra, Inc. for mitigation of the $800 penalty is GRANTED 

in part, and the penalty is reduced to $175.   

 

9 (2) The Commission will refund $625 of the $800 payment received on August 6,    

  2014. 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 20, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 


