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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

RELIABLE MOVERS, LLC  

 

in the amount of $900 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TV-130996 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING REQUEST 

FOR MITIGATION 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2013, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee forms to all household goods carriers.  The cover letter 

accompanying the forms reminded carriers to file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2013, and detailed potential penalties companies faced if 

they failed to file by that date.  The penalties include an assessment of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules, and in the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 81.04.405. 

 

2 On May 10, 2013, the Commission notified Reliable Movers, LLC (Reliable or 

Company) that the Company’s annual fee and regulatory report were overdue, and 

that, as a consequence, Reliable had accrued a penalty of $700.  That notice further 

explained that the penalty would increase by $100 per day for each business day that 

the Company failed to file the report and pay the fee.  The notice stated that 

companies that filed no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated penalties of 

$25 per day. 

 

3 On June 3, 2013, Reliable filed its annual report and paid its regulatory fee, resulting 

in a penalty of $1800, calculated as $100 per business day between May 1 and May 

24, 2013.  Because the Company had not previously missed the deadline for filing its 

annual report and paying its regulatory fee, on August 8, 2013, the Commission 

exercised its discretion to mitigate the penalty by 50 percent to a total assessed 

penalty of $900. 

 

4 On August 21, 2013, Reliable responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violation but seeking to have the penalty mitigated to zero.  Reliable 
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states that it has not previously missed a Commission deadline, and the Company’s 

annual report and regulatory fee were late because they were not properly calendared. 

 

5 On September 3, 2013, Staff filed a response opposing the Company’s request for 

further mitigation.  Staff states that it already took the Company’s filing history into 

account in mitigating the penalty by 50 percent, and that the Company did not present 

any new or compelling information in support of further mitigation. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 The Commission denies Reliable’s request.  The Commission has already mitigated 

the maximum potential penalty by 50 percent to account for the Company’s filing and 

payment history.  As for the calendaring error, Reliable is responsible for taking the 

actions necessary to ensure that it makes timely filings, and the Company’s 

negligence in failing to do so provides no basis for further mitigation.  To the 

contrary, the penalty amount assessed should provide Reliable with the appropriate 

incentive to make future filings when they are due.   

 

ORDER 

 

7 THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

 

8 (1) The request of Reliable for further mitigation of the penalty is DENIED.   

 

9 (2) The penalty of $900 is due and payable no later than December 20, 2013. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 9, 2013. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 

 


