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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

EAST COUNTY SENIOR CENTER 

 

in the amount of $225 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TN-130906 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING MITIGATION 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 
 

1 Washington law requires non-profit bus companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-31-080.  On March 1, 2013, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee forms to all non-profit bus companies.  The cover letter 

accompanying the forms reminded companies to file their annual reports and pay their 

regulatory fees by May 1, 2013, and detailed potential penalties companies faced if 

they failed to file by that date.  The penalties include an assessment of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules, and in the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 81.04.405. 

 

2 On May 10, 2013, the Commission notified East County Senior Center (East County 

or Company) that the Company’s annual fee and regulatory report were overdue, and 

that, as a consequence, East County had accrued a penalty of $700.  That notice 

further explained that the penalty would increase by $100 per day for each business 

day that the Company failed to file the report and pay the fee.  The notice stated that 

companies that filed no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated penalties of 

$25 per day. 

 

3 East County filed its annual report and paid its regulatory fee on May 14, 2013.  On 

July 29, 2013, the Commission assessed a mitigated penalty of $225 against East 

County, calculated as $25 per business day from May 1 to May 14. 

 

4 On May 13, 2013, East County responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violation but seeking to have the penalty reduced to zero.  East County 

states that the annual report and regulatory fee were late due to a filing error and 

reducing the penalty to zero is merited because historically, the Company has filed its 

report and paid its fee on time. 
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5 On September 3, 2013, Staff filed a response opposing the Company’s request for 

mitigation.  Staff observes that the Company is responsible for ensuring that the 

regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  The 

Commission already mitigated the penalty from $100 per day to $25 per day and the 

Company did not present any compelling information in support of further mitigation. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 The Commission denies East County’s request.  The filing error the Company 

contends was responsible for the late filing and payment does not relieve East County 

of its regulatory obligations to timely file its annual report and pay its regulatory fee 

or excuse East County’s failure to do so.  The Commission, moreover, has already 

mitigated the maximum potential penalty to $25 per business day based on the 

Company’s filing and payment history.  The circumstances East County describes 

warrant no further mitigation. 

 

ORDER 
 

7 THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

 

8 (1) The request of East County Senior Center for mitigation of the $225 penalty is 

DENIED.   

 

9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than December 20, 2013. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 4, 2013. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission's website. 

 


