







[Service Date February 4, 2014]
DOCKET TV-120900

PAGE 2
ORDER 01

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

	In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment Against 
3RD GENERATION MOVERS AND HAULING
in the amount of $2,100
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
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	DOCKET TV-120900
ORDER 01
ORDER GRANTING REQUEST FOR PAYMENT ARRANGEMENT



BACKGROUND
1 On July 23, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) assessed a penalty in the amount of $2,100 against 3rd Generation Movers and Hauling (3rd Generation or Company), for violations of WAC 480-15-480.  This rule requires household goods carriers to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year.  

2 January 31, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) contacted the Executive Director and Secretary of the Commission explaining that 3rd Generation had requested to pay the assessed penalty in installments, and that Staff supported the request.  3rd Generation and Staff proposed the following payment schedule:   

February 15, 2014
$420
March 15, 2014
$420
April 15, 2014
$420
May 15, 2014

$420
June 15, 2014

$420
3 Staff also proposes that if 3rd Generation fails to pay the entire $2,100 penalty by 5:00 p.m. on June 15, 2014, the Commission may cancel 3rd Generation’s household goods carrier permit.

DISCUSSION

4 The installment payment schedule Staff and the Company propose is reasonable.  The Commission approves that proposal with two modifications.  First, the installment date for February, March and June are extended so that the due dates land on a business day rather than a weekend.  Second, 3rd Generation may pay in installments only if the Company pays each installment when it is due.  If 3rd Generation fails to timely pay one installment, the entirety of the remaining balance of the assessed penalty will become immediately due and payable, and the Commission may cancel the Company’s household goods permit  

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

5 (1)
The penalty of $2,100 is due and payable to the Commission in installments as follows:
February 18, 2014
$420
March 17, 2014
$420
April 15, 2014
$420
May 15, 2014

$420
June 16, 2014

$420
6 (2)
If 3rd Generation Movers and Hauling fails to pay any installment by 5:00 p.m. on the date that installment payment is due, the unpaid balance will immediately become due and payable without further order by the Commission.  
7 (3)
If 3rd Generation Movers and Hauling fails to pay any portion of the assessed penalty, the Commission may cancel the Company’s household goods carrier permit by order in this docket.
8 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).
DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 4, 2014
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING






Executive Director and Secretary
NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-filed requests is available on the Commission's website.
