STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ° 1TY (360) 586-8203

November 8, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Green Mountain H20
Commission Staftf’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UW-120865

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 13, 2012}, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in docket UW-120865 against Green Mountain H20 (Green Mountain) for
21 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water
companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. The
penalty assessment instructed Green Mountain to complete and sign the document, and send it to
the commission within 15 days after receiving it. Green Mountain had until July 28, 2012 to file
its response.

On October 18, 20122, Green Mountain wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request), which is 97 days past the service date of July 13, 2012. In its Mitigation
Request, Green Mountain does not disputes the violations occurred and states, “1 am asking for a
waiver in regards to the assessed failure to file penalty for my 2011 Annual Report. The 2011
Annual Report is now filed and Green Mountain H20 should be current with all filings. I have
been working with my accountant to make sure this will not happen again. We already have 3
quarter amounts put together and plan to file 2012 Annual Report early in 2013. I appreciate you
reviewing my assessment and hopefully you can waive the penalty. Due to the economic climate
it would be very difficult to pay this penalty. Thank you!”

1 See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 13, 2012 to Green Mountain,
2 See attachment B for a copy of Green Mountain’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on October 22,
2012.
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It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012°, Annuat Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated water companies. In addition to other information, the cover letter
informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory
fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. The letter also stated a
company may file a written request for an extension, however the request must be filed with the
commission by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why the extension is needed,
along with the date the report will be filed. The company did not file a request for an extension.
On May 14, 2012, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on
to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later thari May 25, 2012, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for cach instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report. The company had
substantial time and sufficient notice to file its annual report, if not by the May 1 deadline.

Green Mountain filed its completed annual report on June 27, 2012, Green Mountain did not file
its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012,
The penalty is $100 per business day for a total of $2,100. Green Mountain became regulated in
April 2009 and has never received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in the past,

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty of $2,100. Green Mountain failed to file its
response within the 15 day timeframe required for the commission to consider mitigation. In
addition Green Mountain failed to establish any mitigating circumstances that explain or excuse
its failure to submit its annual report. Staff recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)
664-1105, or at mperkinson(@utc, wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Jrdutls e

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

3 See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012,
4 See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company of May 14, 2012,
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-120363
PENALTY AMOUNT: 82,100

GREEN MOUNTAIN H20

PO BOX 240

§0013 NE HAZEL DELL AVE. #240
VANCOUVER, WA 98685-5203

According to the Commission’s rocords, you have committed a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code {WAC) 480-110-503, which requires permitted water
companies to file ammual reports with the Commission by May 1 cach year and pay regulatory
fees annually on that date. You are classilied as a water company. Conupission records show that
you did not file an annual report or pay annnal regulatory fees by May 1, 2012,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) $1.04.405 awthorizes the Commission to assess penaltics of
SH00 for violations of Conumission rules. Fach and every such violation shall he a separnte and
distinet offense and, in the case of a continuing vielation, every day’s continnance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinet violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-110-505 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for each day a
company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it as assessed penalties against you in the
amount $2,100 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 201§ Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all waler companies registered in Washington
state. A letter from the commission’s Exccutive Secretary David W, Danner,
insteucted these companics to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1, 2012. The hetter stated failure to filethe annuad report by May | would result in
a penalty and possible caugellution of the company’s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the amual
report were asked 1o do 30 prior o April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension, You did not request an extension.

Green Mountain H20 did not fite its snual regort by May 31, 2012, which is 21
business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty is $100 per day for a ol
of $2,100.
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Your penatty is duc and payable now, If you believe the violation did not ocour, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. [T there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty, See
RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at @ hearing, but you are not
required (o do so. If you do, the Commission will review the ¢vidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administeative law judge,
The administrative taw judge wilt consider your ples and notify you of His or her decision,

You must act within 15 days after receiving thiy notice to do one of the following:

» Pay the amount duc.
+  Reyguest a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+  Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and sead it o the Washington Utilitics and
Transporation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7230, within
FIFTEEN (15) days afler vou receive this notice,

T you do not act within 13 days, the Commiysion may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attormey General for collection. 'The Commission will then sue you lo collect the penalty,

DATED at Olympiu, Washiagion, and effective July 13, 2012,
GREGORY J.KOII'A
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120865

PLEASE NOTE: You musi complele and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days afler you receive the penally assessment. Use additional paper il needed.

F have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 {printed below}, which states that making fafse
stutements under oath is a class BB [elosy, T am over the age of 18, am competent to lestify to the
matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the fellowing statements.

i Payment of penalty. 1 admit that the violations occurred. | have!
[ ]Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

{ JSubmitted my payment of $2,100 online at www.ute.wagov. My confinnation

numberis

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a headng, which is a provess
that allows an affected person to prosent argument 10 an administrative kaw judge fora
decision by an administrative law judge: '

[ 13 Application for mitigation, | admit the violations, but [ believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) lask forabearing for a decision by an administrutive law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ ] b} [Pwaiveaheating and ask for an administetive decision en the informution |
preseat direetly above.

1 declare under penally of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any afiachments, is true and correct.

Dated; fmonth/day/year], at {eity, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A,72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. {1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ilin any ofticial
praveeding he makes a materially false staternent which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by faw. (2) Knowledge of the materindity of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief thot his statement was not materi is not a
defense to a prosecution under this seetion. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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L~ Va0Rle>
RECE!VED
0Cr 22 2012
WASH.UT & T copy
October 18, 2012

Utilities & Transportation Conunission
1300 S, Everpreen Park Drive SW

S
3 .
Olympin, WA 98504-72350 g o
~ i
At Amy Andiews ~ £ £
RE:  Green Muountuin H20 x =
10013 NW Hazel Dell Avenue, PMB #240 wooE
Vancouver, WA 98663 R
Dear Ms, Andrews:
I am asking for a waiver in regards to the assessed faiture to file penalty for my 2011
Annual Report. The 201 | Annual Report is now filed and Green Mountsin H2O should
be current with ali filings. 1have been working with my aceountand to make sure this
will not heppen again, We already have 3 quarter amounts put together and plan (o fite
2012 Annual Report early in 2013.
I appreciate you reviewing my assessment and hopefully you can waive the penalty, Due
to the economie clivnate it would be very difficult to pay this penalty, Thank youl
A
Sincercly, b=,
3
i

Dan Class

$31AY3% WIOHYRLE
Le g H‘if 23 LJGD[UL
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Attachment C
STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1308 S, Fvergreen Park Dr. 3., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympla, Washington 98504-7250
{360} 66-1160 * FTY (360} 586-8203
February 29, 2042

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annuval Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May |

State law requires you to file an annuat report and pay regubatory fees w the Washington Utitities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
+ Complete and (ile one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
report form
+  Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

Hme?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UFC will assess a Gnancial penalty of $100 for cach business day after May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid,
You may seek mitigation ot the penaities in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penaities the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were fate and whether
you have filed iate in prior years, IF you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, S1alY will initiate preceedings to bave the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happeas if you do net pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and & 1 percent menthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addigion o the assessment of a penalty of S100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not exterd the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request mtist be
fed with the UTC by Apnil 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will ife your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

g -9
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febnnry 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be linble for penalties and interest pavments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no Tonger operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annuat report based
on the months ol operation during 2011 ¢even il you cancel your registration or pesmit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

{1) You are cligible o request confidential treatment only if your company is regubated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Tmnsporiation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential reatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 30.04.095. 1f a Title 81 company files its annund report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

{2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, waav, nte, wa.goviannual reports.

Please note: The regutatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatnient under the mle, The UTC will not, bowever,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform seme of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual repants page at the UTC
wehsite www.te. wa, goviannualreports:

+  Obtain electronic versions of annuad report forms

+  Pay regulatory lees

¢ File your report electronically

¢ Cancel your registeation (telecomeunications companies} or permit (transportation
companies) if your company ceased opesations in 2011,

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47230
Olympia, WA 98504-7230

Is there any additional infermation you should fite?
+ [f you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
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» If you are an electric company. please also file both a paper and electeonic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1,

o fyou are a¢lass | Ratlroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including stalistics specific to the siate of Washington,

11" you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lyna Camnes at (360) 664-1152 or rearmesiinie. wa. gov.

It wou need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243, The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

Mol

David W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

IEnclosures
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Attachment D

STATE OF WASTINGION
WASHEMGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORIATION COMMISSIOM

LHME S, Pyergrees Bk e $.0%, RO, ftox 47250 « Olympda, Wadiingien %is04- 7259
360y 6661160« TTY (1600 SR6-3203

May 14, 2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Altentinn:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (comemission) was due
on May E, o3 required by law. Financial penalties of STG0 per day began aceniing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have aeerued a penalty of $800. That penalty will inerease by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply,

This lettey teils you what you can do to mifigate your penafty,

H the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, conmmission staft
witl mitigate your penalty to $23 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have Aled hale in the past five years, up to a maximusm of $160 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the conmnission’s website at www.ntewa pov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contnet Mathew Perkinson, Complianee
Investigator, at (360) 664- 1105 or mperkinsonfiute. wa.gov,

Sincerely,

.
Pavid W, Danner

Executive Divector and Secretary
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