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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-230512 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $15,000  

 Investigation # 8719 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL 

 UBI: 601-295-793

Qwest Corporation d/b/a Lumen Technologies/CenturyLink 

904 N. Columbus St. 

Spokane, WA 99202 

Geno.Reed@lumen.com 

 

 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Qwest 

Corporation d/b/a Lumen Technologies/CenturyLink (Lumen or Company) violated Revised Code 

of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(4)(a) by failing to provide information to an excavator no later 

than two business days after receipt of the notice.  

 

RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 

civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 

subsequent violation within a three-year period.  

 

On June 20, 2023, the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) heard 

cases 22-051, 23-047, and 23-058 filed by Clallam County Public Utilities (Complainant) against 

Lumen and determined Lumen violated RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) by Failing to provide information 

to an excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on three different 

occasions. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission impose a $15,000 penalty.  

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing documents, reports, 

and communications with the Safety Committee and all parties involved. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Safety Committee and 

hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $15,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the 

following grounds: 

 

1. Alleged Violation(s): Case 22-051 

The Complainant states that on October 4, 2022, Lumen failed to provide information to an 

excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice. 

 

 

 

mailto:Geno.Reed@lumen.com
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2. Alleged Violation(s): Case 23-047 

The Complainant states that on March 28, 2023, Lumen failed to provide information to an 

excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice. 

 

3. Alleged Violation(s): Case 23-058 

The Complainant states that on May 1, 2023, Lumen failed to provide information to an 

excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice. 

 

Analysis: 

The alleged violations concern RCW 19.122.030(4)(a), which states, in part, that a facility operator 

must provide information to an excavator within two business days after receiving notice from the 

One Call Center. The complainant reported that it had submitted locate tickets for work and the 

tickets had respective due dates of; October 4, 2022, March 28, 2023, and May 1, 2023. When the 

Complainant arrived on site to begin work, the locates were not completed by Lumen. During the 

review, Lumen acknowledged its locates were not completed on time and provided a variety of 

reasons, including short staffing and miscommunications.  

 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 

for the violation: 

 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have caused severe harm to employees, or the public, and could have 

resulted in additional undue expenses and hardships.  

 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 

The violation does not appear to be intentional, but rather due to negligence by Lumen and 

its locators. Over the past 24 months (August 2021-August 2023), Lumen has been 

penalized by the Commission on two occasions for violations of RCW 19.122.030.  

 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 

Lumen did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation 

after the Complainant filed a complaint with the Safety Committee. 

 

4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on Lumen’s actions going forward, and its ability to 

ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are sufficient to comply 

with the requirements of the dig law. 

 

5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  

 

o D-141158 - On August 28, 2014, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a). 

o D-143954 - On February 12, 2015, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $2,500 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a). 

o D-180664 - On December 20, 2018, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). 
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o D-191005 - On January 22, 2020, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $6,000 for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). 

o D-200812 - On April 7, 2021, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $5,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a). 

o D-210811 - On November 23, 2021, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $5,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). 

o D-220201 - On June 2, 2022, the Commission issued Lumen a Penalty 

Assessment of $5,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a). 

 

The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 

probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

• $5,000 penalty for each violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a)  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $15,000 penalty amount due; or 

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 

email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 13, 2023. 

 

/s/Michael Howard 

       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-230512 Investigation # 8719 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and: 

[  ] Enclose $15,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 

I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 

application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 

actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 

prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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