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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-220338 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,600 

Four Seasons Moving & Storage LLC 

d/b/a Four Seasons Moving; 

Four Seasons Moving & Storage 

21902 56th Ave W #A1 

Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Four Seasons 

Moving & Storage LLC d/b/a Four Seasons Moving; Four Seasons Moving & Storage (Four 

Seasons or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-550, Cargo 

Insurance; WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 

480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 396 – Inspection, Repair and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, 

Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers and Part 

395 – Hours of Service of Drivers. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On May 11, 2022, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine 

safety investigation of Four Seasons and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of WAC 480-15-550 – Operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) 

without having adequate cargo insurance coverage. The Company operated a CMV 

without the required cargo insurance on April 14, 2022. 

• Four violations of WAC 480-15-555 – Failing to conduct or retain paperwork 

containing criminal background check or hiring an individual with a disqualifying 

conviction for a household goods carrier in the state of Washington. Four Seasons 

failed to conduct a criminal background check for employees Eduardo Fuentes Lopez, 

Ana Hernandez, Hugo A. Rodriguez, and Monserrat Torres. 

• Six violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. The Company allowed driver Emmanuel Mendoza Martinez to operate a CMV 

without a valid medical certificate on six occasions between November 28, 2021, and 

January 15, 2022. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) – Driver investigation history file must 

contain a copy of the response by each state agency concerning a driver’s driving 
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record pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(a)(1). Four Seasons failed to maintain driving 

records of Emmanuel Mendoza Martinez and Eynorth Josue Martinez. 

• Twenty-eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require driver to 

make a record of duty status. The Company failed to require Emmanuel Mendoza 

Martinez to complete a record of duty status on 28 occasions between February 1 and 

February 28, 2022.  

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(e) – False or inaccurate reports of records of 

duty status. The Company allowed driver Emmanuel Mendoza Martinez to complete an 

inaccurate or false record of duty status on February 10 and 11, 2022. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) – Failing to keep minimum records of 

inspection and vehicle maintenance. Four Seasons failed to maintain a vehicle 

maintenance file for its two CMVs. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: 

(1) operate CMVs without the required cargo insurance, (2) fail to conduct criminal 

background checks on their employees, (3) use drivers that are not medically examined 

and certified, (4) fail to maintain drivers’ driving records, (5) fail to maintain records of 

duty status, (6) allow drivers to make false or inaccurate records of duty status, and (7) 

fail to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance put their customers, 

their customers’ belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present 

significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include: 

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and 

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 

 

On February 19, 2021, the Commission received the Company’s application for 

household goods moving authority. In the application, Anne De Santis, governing person 

of Four Seasons, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply 

with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations. 

 

On April 14 and October 13, 2021, Anne De Santis attended household goods training 

provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety 

regulations on both occasions. The Company knew or should have known about these 

requirements. 
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3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Four Seasons did not self-report 

these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was both 

responsive and cooperative throughout the safety investigation.  

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

The Company has not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the violations. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 21 violation types with a total of 68 

individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Four Seasons. Of those 

violations, Staff identified seven violation types with a total of 45 individual occurrences 

that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy. 

7. The number of customers affected. Four Seasons reported traveling 19,300 miles in 

2021. These safety violations presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies 

to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe 

operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. Staff believes the 

likelihood of recurrence is low if the Company prioritizes safe operations. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 

This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation. Four Seasons has no history of 

penalties or violations with the Commission. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Anne De Santis and Emmanuel 

Mendoza Martinez, governors of Four Seasons, are responsible for the Company’s safety 

compliance program. 

11. The size of the Company. Four Seasons operates two CMVs and employs four drivers. 

The Company reported $298,000 in gross revenue for 2021. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Four 

Seasons $1,600 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of WAC 480-15-550 – Operating a CMV without having adequate cargo 

insurance coverage. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this acute violation. 

• Four violations of WAC 480-15-555 – Failing to conduct or retain paperwork containing 

a criminal background check or hiring an individual with a disqualifying conviction for a 

household goods carrier in the state of Washington. The Commission assesses a penalty 

of $100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of $400. 

• Six violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this 

violation, for a total of $600. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) – Driver investigation history file must 

contain a copy of the response by each state agency concerning a driver’s driving record 

pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(a)(1). The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty 

of $100 for these critical violations. 

• Twenty-eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require driver to make a 

record of duty status. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for 

these critical violations. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(e) – False or inaccurate reports of records of duty 

status. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this violation, 

for a total of $200. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) – Failing to keep minimum records of inspection 

and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for 

these critical violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 
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for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty 

Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to 

records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper 

copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 

Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 9, 2022. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-220338 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,600 in 

payment of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she 

makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 

actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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