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Recommendation 
 
Take no action, thereby allowing PSE’s proposed revisions to Schedule 551 – Electric Vehicle 
Non-Residential Charging Products and Services to become effective March 26, 2021, by 
operation of law. 
 
Background 
 
On February 23, 2021, Puget Sound Energy (PSE or company) filed with the Washington 
Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) proposed revisions to its electric vehicle 
(EV) non-residential charging products and services (Schedule 551). On March 16, the company 
filed a revised cover letter that addresses two concerns that commission staff (staff) had about 
the proposed revisions. These changes address reporting and the use of revenue earned from 
public charging infrastructure. 
 
The purpose of this filing is to (1) transition from time-based pricing rates to energy-based rates 
for the company’s public electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), and (2) to institute an “idle 
fee”, a charge imposed upon customers that leave their vehicles in parking spots served by public 
EVSE after the vehicles are done charging, thus depriving other EV drivers of public charging 
infrastructure. The proposed changes impact both Level 2 public chargers and direct current fast 
chargers (DCFC). Table 1 sums up the proposed changes. 
 

Table 1: Current and Proposed Rates for Public EV Charging Under PSE Schedule 551 
 
 Current Proposed 
Level 2 Chargers $2.50/hour $0.28/kWh 
DC Fast Chargers $7.50/30 minutes $0.42/kWh 

Idle Fee N/A $0.40/minute after 10-minute 
grace period 

 
PSE’s EV charging services are currently considered a pilot program authorized in 2018 under 
docket UE-180877. The proposed rate changes are a modification to that pilot program. PSE 
currently only has one public charging site, in Lacey, but plans to add approximately seven more 
by the end of 2022. 
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Discussion 
 
Energy-Based Rates 
 
The first goal of this filing is to shift from per-minute rates for public EVSE to per-kilowatt hour 
(kWh) rates. When PSE began its public charging pilot in 2018, the company based its charging 
fees for public charging on the amount of time it took for customers to charge, rather than by the 
amount of energy consumed during a charging session. Today it is common for public charging 
companies, including both regulated utilities and unregulated third-party companies, to set their 
user fees on a per-kWh basis. In Washington, Avista Corporation (Avista) moved from a per-
minute fee to a per-kWh fee for its DCFC infrastructure in early 2018.1 PSE is now proposing a 
similar rate structure. 
 
Both the DCFC and Level 2 charging rates were set by taking a weighted average of the rates 
charged by the third-party charging companies that have installed EVSE infrastructure in PSE’s 
service territory. The rates do not take PSE’s cost of providing public EVSE services into 
account. This is in keeping with the original language of the pilot program filing, when PSE 
agreed to charge “market-based rate[s], based on the average rate for chargers in PSE’s electric 
service territory.”2 The reason for setting rates in this way is to promote the development of 
public EVSE infrastructure, but not undercut third-party providers in this nascent market. 
 
Idle Fee 
 
The second aspect of this filing involves the imposition of an idle fee for public EVSE (both 
DCFC and Level 2), which would be a first among the three investor-owned utilities (IOUs) 
regulated by the commission. An idle fee would be imposed upon EV owners for occupying a 
parking space associated with an EV charger after their charging session has been completed. 
The fee would be $0.40 per minute, after a 10-minute grace period that begins once the vehicle 
achieves a full charge. The grace period allows owners to move their vehicles without incurring 
any charges. Users of the company’s “Up&Go” public EV charging smartphone app will be 
notified via app, text, and/or email that their vehicle has completed its charging session. Drivers 
that choose not to use the app will not receive any such notification. When a customer initiates a 
charging session, they will be notified of all rates and fees. 
 
The company has several goals in instituting this new charge. The first is to encourage proper 
charging behavior. The second is to gather additional data on public EV charging behavior. In 
response to staff concerns around data collection and reporting, the company has agreed to 
collect and report the following in its twice-annual pilot reports to the statewide EV stakeholder 
group: how many charging sessions have incurred idle fees, the revenue PSE collected from 
those fees, and any insights drawn from the imposition of idle fees as part of the pilot program. 
 

 
1 Docket UE-160082, Order 02. 
2 Docket UE-180877, “Attachment A EV Program Descriptions,” p. 18. Avista took a similar approach 
when it updated its public DCFC charging rates in 2018. Docket UE-160082. 

http://apps.utc.wa.gov/apps/cases/2016/160082/Filed%20Documents/00038/UE-160082%20Order%2002.pdf
http://apps.utc.wa.gov/apps/cases/2016/160082/Filed%20Documents/00038/UE-160082%20Order%2002.pdf
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While PSE would be the first IOU with an idle fee in the state, some third-party charging 
companies already charge idle fees. Electrify America – which has nearly two-thirds (65 percent) 
of the public DCFC infrastructure in PSE’s service territory – charges a similar $0.40 per minute 
idle fee.3 The company will track any revenues accrued from the idle fee in the EV accounting 
petition approved by the commission in 2019.4 
 
Staff Analysis 
 
Staff has reviewed the workpapers the company submitted in support of this filing and believes 
that the proposed per-kWh charges for both DCFC and Level 2 EVSE are reasonable and meet 
the goals and spirit of the pilot program. 
 
After extensive discussions with the company, staff is supportive of the idle fee, as well. In 
supporting the idle fee, staff acknowledges that PSE is out in front on this issue. The company 
would be the first of the state’s IOUs to institute such a fee, and there is not yet any data to 
suggest that it is necessary. Staff is willing to accept the idle fee as a pilot so the company may 
gather and report data on its effectiveness, as it agreed to do in the revised cover letter filed 
March 16. If the data indicates that the idle fee is ineffective, counterproductive, or 
disadvantages certain drivers, it can be modified or removed as appropriate in a later public EV 
charging program. Staff recognizes the need to train EV drivers not to take up scarce public 
charging space when they are not charging their vehicles. 
 
Stakeholder Outreach 
 
While the NW Energy Coalition (NWEC) supports the changes in this filing to move to a per-
kWh rate, it has expressed some concerns with certain components. First, NWEC believes that 
the company should more seriously consider using time-of-use rates in its EVSE program. 
Second, NWEC has concerns around accessibility of charging options to customers, especially 
low- and moderate-income customers. In the current filing, NWEC is concerned about requiring 
customers to download and use a smartphone app to be notified about the status of their charge, 
when some customers may not have access to the app. While staff is sensitive to these concerns, 
staff also believes that the company’s imminent filing of a transportation electrification plan will 
be a more productive forum in which to address them, rather than doing so piecemeal in this and 
other tariff filings. 
 
Recommendation 
 
Take no action, thereby allowing PSE’s proposed revisions to Schedule 551 – Electric Vehicle 
Non-Residential Charging Products and Services to become effective March 26, 2021, by 
operation of law. 

 
3 While not a part of PSE’s charging network, Tesla Superchargers also have per-minute idle fees, which 
reach as high as $1.00 per minute, depending upon how full the Supercharger station is at the time. 
4 Docket UE-190129. 

http://apps.utc.wa.gov/apps/cases/2019/190129/Filed%20Documents/00007/UE-190129%20Order%2001.pdf

