
RECEIVED 
oci.  13 2.09  WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

Rim PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-200749, Investigation # 8226 

osvi.l.o.c°5" LEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 
days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 
under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 
below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 
statements. 

[ 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the 
penalty. 

[0z 2. Accept condition. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the payment of 
cp the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 
in 
co remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the condition that Zayo must not commit any 

cm ± 2 additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. u) 2 CV 
0 < 0 C•••.I 0 
-V'  

[@p.  Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I — 

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 
administrative law judge for a decision. 

OR [ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

[ ] 4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for 
the reasons set out below: 

[ [ a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 
administrative law judge for a decision. 

OR [ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: 10/12/2020 [Month/Day/Year], at  Richmond, Virginia [City, State] 

  

Michael Shane Ayers (Stake Center Locating, 
a contractor for Zayo)  

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print 

C▪ .) 
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tZ describe below: 
co 65 
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If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice  to do one of the following: 

• Pay the $1,000 amount due; or 
• Pay $200 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer 

to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $800 of the penalty amount subject to the 
condition that Zayo must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or 

• Request a hearing to contest the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 5, 2020. 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 
RAYNE PEARSON 
Director, Administrative Law Division 
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