Service Date: March 4, 2020

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-200125
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Emerald Services, Inc.
6851 E. Marginal Way S
Seattle, WA 98108

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Emerald
Services, Inc., (Emerald Services or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-70-201, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of
Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 396 — Inspection Repair and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct

violation.

On February 18, 2020, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a
routine safety investigation of Emerald Services and documented the following violations:

e Two violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. The Company utilized two commercial motor vehicles not
periodically inspected.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that use vehicles that are not
periodically inspected put the traveling public at risk. These violations present public
safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

o  Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and '

e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On June 10, 2008, and October 22, 2009, Staff completed routine safety investigations of
the Company resulting in a “satisfactory” safety rating, wherein violations were identified
and technical assistance was provided.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.
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3.

Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Emerald Services did not self-
report these violations.

Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Emerald Services was
cooperative throughout the investigation and expressed a desire to come into compliance.

Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Emerald Services has not provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected these
violations. AenSe— Lerae 7o Judm. it Pdted Mgty 6, 2020 Fom Copuererne Aerons.

The number of violations. Staff identificd seven violation types with a total of 18
individual occurrences.

The number of customers affected. The Company employs 31 drivers and operates 65
commercial motor vehicles. Emerald Services traveled 1,038,206 miles in 2018. These
safety violations presented a public safety risk.

The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies
to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe
operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was
cooperative with Staff, and expressed a desire to come into compliance. In light of these
factors, Staff believes that the likelihood of recurrence is low.

The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
The Company was penalized for failing to file a complete annual report and pay
regulatory fees by the due date in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2015, 2016, and 2017. The Company
has no history of penalties for safety violations.

. The Company’s existing compliance program. Karli Smith, Transportation

Compliance Specialist, is responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.

. The size of the Company. Emerald Services currently operates 65 commercial motor

vehicles and employs 31 drivers. The Company reported $24,991,795 in gross revenuc
for 2018.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for cach
occurrence of a first-time violation." The Commission gencrally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

| . M
SD(z_cketVA-l20061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission -
ection V.
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The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Emerald
Services $100, calculated as follows:

e Two violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for

these first-time violations.,

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the

penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not
occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence
‘presented at a hearing or in'writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for either or both of the
violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission
will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of
evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of
the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81 .04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amounts.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 4, 2020.

/s! Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-200125

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. 1 am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[¥] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $100 in payment

of the penalty. Ay bt MAcat 1) 2026 -Sow Emay. Fiom Btosres TECHOR 17 wh Ve

[ 1 2. Contestthe violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 a) Task forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [ ] b) TIaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 a) [Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [ 1 b) TIaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ﬁﬂt&lf (l‘. 0L [month/day/year], at _ M}, )7W' [city, state]
Enaﬁ&ubJezﬁwc. Inte..

Name of Respondent (comﬁ%ny) — please print Signature of Applicant sw Snsew=of
Emernd .Cm—m:s e
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RCW 9A.72.020:.

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he'kr.lows‘to be false und.er an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class







Thoms, Alicia M

From: Costello, Colleen E

Sent: Tuesday, March 10, 2020 12:53 PM
To: Thoms, Alicia M

Subject: FW: UTC Payment Confirmation
Attachments: ATTO00001.bin. TXT

Thank you,

Colleen

Safety Starts with Me: Live It 3-6-5

Colleen Costello

Transportation Compliance -Senior Manager
781-792-5787

Clean Harbors

From: Tschida, Brooke (UTC) <brooke.tschida@utc.wa.gov>
Sent: Tuesday, March 10, 2020 12:27 PM

To: Costello, Colleen E <costello.colleen@cleanharbors.com>
Subject: FW: UTC Payment Confirmation

Good Afternoon,
Attached is the confirmation for your payment to the Utilities and Transportation Commission.

Thank you,

Brooke Tschida

Fiscal Analyst (Financial Services)
Utilities and Transportation Commission
(360)-664-1349

621 Woodland Square Loop SE, Lacey WA 98503
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Sent: Tuesday, March 10, 2020 5:22 AM
To: Tschida, Brooke (UTC) <brooke.tschida@utc.wa.gov>
Subject: UTC Payment Confirmation

Thank You for Submitting Your Online Credit Card Payment

Your payment of $100.00 has been received on 3-10-2020 9:22 AM.
1



Payment ID: 10928
Payment For: Penalty
Company: Emerald Services, Inc.
Invoice Number: 5817
Credit Card Confirmation Number: 091598

Payment Summary

Payment Amount to UTC: $100.00
Convenience Fee to Official Payments: $3.95
Total Charged to Credit Card: $103.95

Any questions can be directed to Accounts Receivable, 360-664-1349.



