Service Date: April 16,2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

RECEN ED NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
. FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

1 COMM
WP\SH UT. s PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190239
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,000
Investigation #7938
JSB Contractors, LLC UBI: 602 351 040
1319 Thornton Ave. SW . Phone: (253) 863-4880
Pacific, WA 98047

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030 by failing to request a dig ticket prior to
performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a
one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a
civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports
submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), which identified natural gas damage events involving
JSB Contractors, LLC (JSB or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it
is assessing a penalty against you for $2,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On February 26, 2018, JSB struck and damaged a natural gas line operated by PSE
while excavating at 26005 156™ Ave. SE, Covington, Washington. JSB did not
have a valid dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground
utilities before excavating. On April 3, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for
damaging the natural gas service line on February 26. JSB submitted a request to
locate underground utilities at the site on January 2, 2018, which expired on
February 16, 2018. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for JSB at this
location for February 26.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the
Company on April 18, 2018, that included detailed information about the
requirements of Washington State’s underground utility damage prevention act and
the possibility of penalties for each violation.

(Second Violation) ‘
On October 1, 2018, JSB struck and damaged PSE’s underground gas line while
excavating at 13918 E Meridian Ave., Washington. Before beginning excavation,
the Company failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to
locate underground utilities. JSB had some of the utilities marked by a private
locator, but not all of the underground utilities were marked.
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On November 9, 2018, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying JSB as the party
responsible for damaging the natural gas service line on October 1. Staff was unable
to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $2,000 penalty against JSB for two
violations of RCW 19.122.030 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-
number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as
follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(6) that occurred on February
26,2018; and ‘

¢ $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on October 1,
2018.

Staff’s research and communication with Company management indicate that JSB has a
positive history of submitting utility locate requests, and the violation appears to be the
result of the Company’s negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of
Washington’s dig law. JSB had utilities located at both damage incident sites, but the
request for the Covington site expired before the Company completed excavation. The
utility locate at the Puyallup site was incomplete because JSB hired a private locating
company to locate the utilities instead of submitting a request through the one-call service.
Following the damage incidents, JSB updated Company policies and practices to better
track and document its utility locate requests, and now provides notice to the one-number
service in addition to any private locators it utilizes. After considering all of the
circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend $1,500 of the
$2,000 penalty amount for a period of one year subject to the conditions that: (1) the
Company’s management and crew foremen involved in excavation attend Dig Safe training
provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months
of the date of this Notice; and (2) the Company commits no further violations of RCW
19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $2,000, with an
offer to suspend $1,500 of the penalty subject to the conditions listed above. The Commission will
waive the $1,500 suspended penalty amount if the Company complies with both conditions. If the
Company fails to comply with either of these conditions, the $1,500 suspended penalty amount
will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission
may assess for additional violations. -

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are
sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty
through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within
15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth
below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following
statements:

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $2,000 in payment of
the penalty.

?é 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and have enclosed $500 of the penalty
amount. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining
$1,500 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Company employees, including management and crew foremen involved in
excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 12 months of this
Notice; and

o Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of
attending the training; and

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of
this Notice.

/

[ ]3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request
will be denied):

[ ]a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ ] 4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application
" here, your request will be denied):

[ ]a) Task forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: mﬁ( ; 7.& 101" [Month/Day/Year], at f)ef! th WK [City, State]
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Name of Respondent (company) — please print ‘Signature of Applicant
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hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a
written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will
result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $2,000 penalty amount due; or

* Pay $500 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to
suspend, and ultimately waive, $1,500 of the $2,000 penalty amount subject to the
following conditions:

o Company employees, including management and crew foremen involved in
excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12)
months of the date of this Notice; and

o Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of
attending the training; and

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date
of this Notice; or

* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of either or both of the violations; or
* Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 16, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division



RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






