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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

RIGHT TURN MOVING LLC 

 

in the amount of $10,200 

DOCKET TV-170178 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO       

    $3,200 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On March 23, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $10,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Right Turn 

Moving LLC (Right Turn Moving or Company) for 103 critical violations of Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560 and WAC 480-15-570, which adopt by 

reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 391 related to driver 

qualifications; Part 395 related to driver hours of service; and Part 396 related to vehicle 

inspection, repair, and maintenance.1      

 

2 On April 17, 2017, Right Turn Moving responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. In its response, the Company addressed only the violations related to its 

employee’s expired medical certificate. The Company accepted responsibility for its 

conduct and explained that the violations were immediately corrected. The Company 

further explained that it has put controls in place to ensure that medical certificates are 

tracked and renewed when required. Finally, the Company explained that its operations 

are very small, and the penalty would create a financial hardship. 

 

3 On April 21, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. The Penalty Assessment 

includes a $10,000 penalty for 100 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a); a $100 penalty 

for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a); and a $100 penalty for two violations of 49 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). Staff recommends reducing the portion of the penalty assessed for 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) to $3,000 because these are first-time violations 

and the Company took prompt corrective action. Staff does not recommend any further 

mitigation because the Company failed to address the other violation categories in its 

response. Accordingly, Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of 

$3,200. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.4   

 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category in turn. 

 

6 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $10,000 penalty for 100 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because Right Turn Moving allowed one driver 

who was not medically examined and certified to drive on 100 occasions in the six 

months preceding the compliance review. In its response, the Company explained that it 

immediately corrected the violations and implemented a system to prevent violations 

going forward. 

 

                                                 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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7 Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of $3,000 because these are 

first-time violations and the Company ensured its driver was medically examined and 

certified prior to receiving the Penalty Assessment. We agree with Staff’s 

recommendation. In its response, the Company acknowledged the violations and 

provided assurances of future compliance. In light of these factors, we assess a $3,000 

penalty for 100 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). 

 

8 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) because Right Turn Moving allowed one of its 

employees to drive without making a record of duty status on one occasion in the six 

months preceding the compliance review. The Company did not address this violation in 

its response. 

 

9 Staff recommends no mitigation for this portion of the penalty because the Company 

failed to address this violation in its response. We agree. Because the Company failed to 

provide any supporting documentation to demonstrate that it has created a system to 

prevent the violations from reoccurring, we decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

 

10 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for two 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) because Right Turn Moving failed to have either of 

its vehicles periodically inspected, as required. The Company did not address this 

violation in its response. 

 

11 Staff recommends no mitigation for this portion of the penalty because the Company did 

not address this violation in its response. We agree. Right Turn Moving failed to provide 

any information demonstrating the steps the Company has taken to correct the violations 

and prevent them from reoccurring. In addition, the Commission could have assessed a 

$200 penalty, but, because these are first-time violations, assessed a “per category” rather 

than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we find that no further penalty reduction is 

warranted. 

 

12 To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff to 

establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements. 
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FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

13 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 

14 (2) Right Turn Moving is a household goods carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

 

15 (3) Right Turn Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it allowed a driver 

who was not medically examined and certified to drive on 100 occasions during 

the six months preceding the compliance review. 

 

16 (4) Right Turn Moving should be penalized $3,000 for 100 violations of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 391.45(a). 

 

17 (5) Right Turn Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) when it allowed its employee 

to drive without making a record of duty status on one occasion in the six months 

preceding the compliance review. 

 

18 (6) Right Turn Moving should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

395.8(a). 

 

19 (7) Right Turn Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) when it failed to have either 

of its vehicles periodically inspected as required.  

 

20 (8) Right Turn Moving should be penalized $100 for two violations of 49 C.F.R. Part  

  396.17(a). 

 

21 (9) Right Turn Moving should be permitted to file jointly with Staff a mutually  

  agreeable arrangement for paying the $3,200 penalty.   
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ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

22 (1) Right Turn Moving LLC’s request for mitigation of the $10,200 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $3,200.   

 

23 (2) Right Turn Moving LLC must either  pay the penalty or file jointly with Staff a  

  proposed payment arrangement no later than May 8, 2017. 

   

24 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 25, 2017. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


