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BACKGROUND

On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to all regulated
telecommunications companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file
their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face
penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing
violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.

W(CI Cable, Inc. (WCI or Company) filed an incomplete annual report on May 2, 2016,
and had not made a complete filing by May 16. On June 23, the Commission assessed a
penalty of $1,000 against WCI, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May
16.

On June 23, 2016, WCI responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting
the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. The
Company explained that it informed Commission staff (Staff) via email that it is not
authorized to collect deposits from customers, and therefore has no financial information
to report.

OnJuly 1, 2016, Staff filed a response recommending a penalty reduction to $200,
calculated as $25 per business day from May 2 to May 12, because the Company notified
Staff via email on May 12, 2016, that it had no financial information report. While the
email did not contain enough for information for Staff to conclusively determine that all
of the annual reporting requirements had been fulfilled, Staff did not follow up with the
Company to seek clarification. On June 22, 2016, Staff confirmed that the May 12 email
did, in fact, contain all of the information necessary to satisfy the Company’s annual
reporting requirements despite the fact that the Company did not submit an income
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statement or balance sheet. Accordingly, Staff considers the report complete as of May
12. Staff also noted that the Company has been active since 2000, and has no prior
violations of WAC 480-120-382.

DISCUSSION

WAC 480-120-382 requires regulated telecommunications companies to file annual
reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year, or the first business day thereafter.
Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company
should have indicated on the balance sheet and income statement that it had no financial
information to report rather than failing to include those items with its filing.

The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission
may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including
whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and
the likelihood the violation will recur.! Here, WCI has since corrected the violation by
filing a complete annual report. In addition, this is the Company’s first violation of WAC
480-120-382 since it became regulated in 2000; given its history of compliance, the
violations are unlikely to recur. In light of these factors, the Commission will exercise its
discretion to reduce the penalty to $200.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1)  WHCI Cable, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in
part, and the penalty is reduced to $200.

(2 The $200 penalty is due and payable no later than July 25, 2016.

! Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(January 7, 2013).
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The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 11, 2016.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.



