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BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 26, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $2,600 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Jimmy’s Discount 

Muffler Brake and Radiator d/b/a Jimmy’s Limousine (Jimmy’s Limousine or Company) 

for 12 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts 

by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 382 related to controlled substance and alcohol testing; Part 

383 related to commercial driver’s license standards; Part 393 related to driver 

qualifications; and Part 396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and maintenance.    

 

2 On March 15, 2016, Jimmy’s Limousine responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. The Company’s owner, James Palmer, explained that the violations were 

unintentional and that the Company intends to comply with Commission rules going 

forward. Mr. Palmer further explained that the Company is communicating with the “US 

Health Center” about a drug testing program, that all drivers are now qualified to drive 

and are medically certified, and that maintenance records for commercial vehicles will be 

maintained going forward.  

 

3 On March 22, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation. Staff explains that although all 

22 violations cited in the Penalty Assessment are first-time offenses, 12 warrant penalties 

because they present a risk of serious harm to the public. The Penalty Assessment 

includes a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a); a $400 penalty 

for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(b); a $600 penalty for six violations of 49 
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C.F.R. Part 391.45(a); and a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.3. Staff 

recommends no mitigation of the penalty. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

4 Washington law requires auto transportation carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.1 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.3   

 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.4  

 

6 The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

382.115(a) because the Company does not have an alcohol and drug testing program in 

place. In its response, the Company explained that it is in communication with the “US 

Health Center” regarding a testing program. Staff notes that it is not familiar with the 

“US Health Center” and recommends the Commission deny the Company’s request for 

mitigation with respect to this portion of the penalty because the Company failed to 

provide evidence that it has implemented a testing program or corrected the violation. We 

agree with Staff’s recommendation. As noted in the Penalty Assessment, impaired drivers 

present serious safety concerns, and companies that disregard requirements for alcohol 

and drug testing put the traveling public risk. In addition, the Company received technical 

assistance related to this requirement during a 2009 compliance review, has not yet 

corrected the violation, and presented no new information that would warrant a penalty 

reduction. Given these circumstances and the critical nature of this violation, we decline 

to mitigate this portion of the penalty.  

                                                 
1 See RCW 81.04.405. 

2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

4 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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7 The Penalty Assessment also includes a $400 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

383.37(b) because the Company allowed an employee, Robert DeHart, to operate a 

commercial vehicle on four occasions while his commercial driver’s license was invalid. 

In correspondence received by Staff on February 18, 2016, the Company stated that Mr. 

DeHart is no longer employed by the Company. Staff recommends the Commission deny 

the Company’s request to mitigate this portion of the penalty because the Company failed 

to explain how the violations occurred or how the violations have since been corrected, 

and neglected to mention in its response that it no longer employs Mr. DeHart. We agree 

with Staff’s recommendation. At a minimum, the Company should have included a 

description of how it plans to prevent this violation from recurring in the future. In 

addition, the Company’s response did not introduce any new information that would 

warrant a reduction of the penalty. Accordingly, we decline to mitigate this portion of the 

penalty.  

 

8 The Penalty Assessment also includes a $600 penalty for six violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(a) because the Company allowed three of its drivers to drive without medical 

certification on six occasions. In its response, the Company explains that all drivers are 

currently medically certified and will maintain their certification. Staff recommends the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation of this portion of the penalty 

because the Company failed to explain how the violations occurred, failed to provide any 

documentation of the steps it has taken to avoid repeat violations, and neglected to 

mention in its response that two of the three noncompliant drivers are no longer 

employed by the Company. In addition, the Company has received technical assistance 

related to these violations on two prior occasions. We agree with Staff that mitigation is 

not appropriate in these circumstances. Drivers who are not medically certified may have 

an undocumented medical condition that puts the traveling public at risk, and the 

Company has neither demonstrated that it has achieved compliance in this area nor 

introduced any new information to warrant a reduction of the penalty.  

 

9 Finally, the Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 396.3 because the Company failed to maintain vehicle inspection and maintenance 

records. In its response, the Company explains that records of all inspections are 

maintained as they are performed. Staff recommends the Commission deny the 

Company’s request to mitigate this portion of the penalty because the Company failed to 

identify the breakdown in internal controls that led to the violations, or provide 

documentation of a compliance plan. We agree with Staff that mitigation is not 

appropriate here. It is the Company’s responsibility to ensure compliance with 
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Commission rules and to demonstrate that it has come into compliance when violations 

are identified. Moreover, the Company did not introduce any new information that 

warrants a penalty reduction.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

10 (1) Jimmy’s Discount Muffler Brake and Radiator d/b/a Jimmy’s Limousine’s 

request for mitigation of the $2,600 penalty is DENIED.  

 

11 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than April 11, 2016. 

 

12 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 28, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. The Commission will grant a late-filed request 

for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory explanation of 

why the person did not timely file the request A form for late-filed requests is 

available on the Commission’s website. 


