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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

SAN JUAN EXPRESS, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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DOCKET TS-150965 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $250 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires commercial ferry companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-51-100. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all regulated commercial ferry companies. The forms 

included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory 

fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  

In the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 

80.04.405. 

 

2 San Juan Express, Inc. (San Juan Express or Company) did not file its annual report on 

May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On May 21, the Commission 

assessed a penalty of $1,000 against San Juan Express, calculated as $100 per business 

day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 3, 2015, San Juan Express filed its annual report. That same day, the Company 

responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations and 

requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. The 

Company explained that its prior CFO resigned in April 2015, and did not prepare the 

annual report prior to resignation. The Company further stated that the annual report has 

since been completed and submitted by its new CFO. 

 

4 On June 10, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission mitigate the penalty to $25 per day, or $250. Staff noted that the Company 

has been active since 1991, and has no prior violations of WAC 480-51-100.  
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-51-100 requires regulated commercial ferry companies to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual report was 

timely filed, regardless of employee turnover.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a 

company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly corrected, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.1 This is San Juan Express’s first violation of WAC 

480-51-100, and the Company has since filed its annual report and paid its regulatory and 

late fees. In addition, the Company has been regulated since 1991; given its extensive 

history of compliance, the violation is not likely to recur. In light of these factors, the 

Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $250.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) San Juan Express, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than June 25, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 15, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


