BEFORE THE WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment)	DOCKET TV-150924
Against)	
)	ORDER 01
MVP MOVING)	
)	ORDER GRANTING
in the amount of \$1,000)	MITIGATION TO \$250
)	

BACKGROUND

- Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-15-480. On February 27, 2015, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2015, or face penalties of \$100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day's continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405.
- MVP Moving did not file its annual report on May 1, 2015, and had not made that filing by May 15. On June 1, the Commission assessed a penalty of \$1,000 against MVP Moving, calculated as \$100 per business day from May 1 to May 15.
- 3 On June 2, 2015, MVP Moving responded to the Commission's penalty assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the written information provided. The Company explained that it is a new company, and it never received the annual reports packet in the mail.
- 4 On June 5, 2015, MVP Moving filed its annual report and paid both its regulatory and late payment fees.
- 5 On June 10, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty reduction to \$25 per day, or \$250, because the Company has no prior violations of WAC 480-15-480.

DISCUSSION

- 6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its annual report was timely filed.
- 7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff's recommendation. The Commission may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including whether the violation was promptly corrected and the likelihood the violation will recur.¹ Here, the Company has since filed its annual report and paid its regulatory fee. Because we have granted mitigation to similarly situated companies in their first year of operation, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to \$250.

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

- 8 (1) MVP Moving's request for mitigation of the \$1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to \$250.
- 9 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than June 26, 2015.
- 10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 16, 2015.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

STEVEN V. KING Executive Director and Secretary

¹ Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (January 7, 2013).

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is posted on the Commission's website.