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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

P & D DEVELOPMENT, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

 

 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET UW-150788 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER DENYING REQUEST FOR 

HEARING; DENYING CONTEST 

OF VIOLATION; GRANTING 

MITIGATION TO $250 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-110-505. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all regulated water companies. The forms included a 

reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by 

May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the 

case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 

80.04.405. 

 

2 P & D Development, Inc. (P & D Development or Company) did not file its annual report 

by May 1, and had not made that filing by May 15. On May 20, the Commission assessed 

a penalty of $1,000 against P & D Development, calculated as $100 per business day 

from May 1 to May 15.  

 

3 On May 29, 2015, P & D Development filed an incomplete annual report. That same day, 

P & D Development responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, contesting the 

violations and requesting a hearing. The Company provided the following information: 

“This is a request for a hearing because I believe one or more of the alleged violations did 

not occur because I have a copy of my 2014 Annual Report dated April 6, 2015, and 

mailed on that same day to your office.” 

 

4 On June 15, 2015, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission assess a reduced penalty of $25 per day, or $250, conditioned on the 

Company immediately correcting the deficiency in its annual report. Staff notes that  

P & D Development has no prior violations of WAC 480-110-505, but, as of June 15, 

2015, has failed complete its annual report filing for 2015.  
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-110-505 requires regulated water companies to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. Companies are responsible for complying with 

their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its complete annual report 

was timely filed and received. 

 

6 As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s request for a hearing. The 

Commission’s penalty assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will 

only be granted if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in hearing. Here, no issues of law or fact are in dispute. The Commission did 

not receive the Company’s annual report until May 29. Moreover, the May 29 filing 

remains incomplete despite Staff notifying the Company of the deficiency. The facts, 

therefore, are undisputed, and the law is clear. Accordingly, the Company’s request for a 

hearing is denied.  

 

7 The Commission also denies the Company’s contest of the violations. The undisputed 

facts demonstrate that, as of June 15, 2015, the Commission has not received the 

Company’s completed annual report. Because P & D Development submitted an 

incomplete annual report and has yet to correct its deficiency, the Company has violated 

the law.  

 

8 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including a 

company’s history of compliance and the likelihood the violation will recur.1 This is  

P & D Development’s first violation of WAC 480-110-505, and the Company has been 

regulated since 2010. Given the Company’s history of compliance, a reduced penalty is 

appropriate. The Commission will therefore exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty 

to $25 per day, or $250, provided the Company completes its annual report filing within 

10 days of the date of this order. If the Company fails to complete its filing by that date, 

the remaining $750 penalty will immediately become due and payable without further 

action by the Commission. 

  

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 



DOCKET UW-150788  PAGE 3 

ORDER 01 

 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

9 (1) P & D Development, Inc.’s request for a hearing is DENIED.   

 

10 (2) P & D Development, Inc.’s contest of the violations is DENIED.  

 

11 (3) P & D Development, Inc.’s request for mitigation is GRANTED, in part, and the 

penalty is reduced to $250 conditioned on P & D Development, Inc. completing 

its annual report filing no later than June 29, 2015. If P & D Development, Inc. 

fails to complete its filing by that date, the remaining $750 penalty will become 

due and payable on June 30, 2015, without further action by the Commission. 

 

12 (4)  The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than June 29, 2015. 

 

13 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 17, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


