
[Service date August 4, 2014] 

 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

COUNCIL ON AGING & HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

DOCKET TN-141039 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $100 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-31-080.  On 

February 28, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee packets to all regulated private, 

nonprofit transportation providers.  The forms included a reminder that companies 

must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, or face 

penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In the case of continuing 

violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Council on Aging & Human Services did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, 

and had not made that filing by May 15.  On May 23, the Commission assessed a 

penalty of $1,000 against Council on Aging & Human Services, calculated as $100 

per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On May 28, 2014, Council on Aging & Human Services filed its annual report and 

paid its regulatory fee.  On June 2, the Company responded to the Commission’s 

penalty assessment admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty 

based on the written information provided.  The Company explained that the annual 

report paperwork did not reach the appropriate person, and was therefore overlooked.  

The Company also stated the penalty would create a financial hardship, and assured 

compliance going forward. 
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4 On June 16, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission reduce the penalty to $100.  Staff noted that the Company has no prior 

violations of WAC 480-31-080.   

 

DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-31-080 requires private, nonprofit transportation providers to file annual 

reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations.  The Company should have been aware of the 

need to file an annual report, and should not rely on receipt of Commission mailings 

to ensure compliance.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including a company’s history of compliance, whether the violation was promptly 

corrected, and the likelihood the violation will recur.  Here, the Company has been 

active since 2007, and has no previous violations of WAC 480-31-080.  Additionally, 

the Company has since filed its annual report and provided assurances of future 

compliance.  Finally, the Company stated that the penalty would create a financial 

hardship.  The Commission’s goal is to obtain compliance, not create an 

insurmountable financial burden for a small company.  In light of these factors, the 

Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty to $100.  

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) The request of Council on Aging & Human Services for mitigation of the 

$1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $100.   

 

8 (2) The penalty is due and payable no later than August 18, 2014. 
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9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 4, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 


