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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


June 20, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Interstate Telecommunications, Inc.

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties UT-140894

Dear Mr. King:

[bookmark: _GoBack]On May 30, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-140894 against Interstate Telecommunications, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 4, 2014, Interstate Telecommunications, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Interstate Telecommunications, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “We mailed our report on April 28th or 29th, 2014.  During the week of May 5th we received our letter back from the US Postal Service marked undeliverable.  No stamp in terms of missing postage, incorrect address.  We then sent the report back to by federal express with a note of apology.  Though probably immaterial, I believe our history will show us with constant and timely reports.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunication companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of 
the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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On May 19, 2014, Interstate Telecommunications, Inc. filed its annual report with no regulatory fees due.  The company has been active since June 8, 1994.  No prior violations of WAC 480-120-382 are on commission record.  Staff supports the company’s request for mitigation as this is the first delinquent annual report filing.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 30, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Interstate Telecommunication’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 30, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Interstate Telecommunication’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140894
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Tnterstate Telecommunications
1385 Weber Industrial Drive
Cumming. GA 30041

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companes to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by
May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1as 2
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails o file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

‘On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Interstate Telecommunications has not filed its 2013 annual
report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1,
resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing o in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include  written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS0.04405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your authority to
provide telecommunications services in Washington

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 30, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140804

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and  have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ JEnclosedS___inpayment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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INTERSTATE
TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.

1385 Weber Industrial Drive
Cumming, GA_ 30041
@70 7814787

June 2, 2014

‘Washington Utilities and Ttransportation Commission
13005, Evergreen Park Dr. SW,
Olympia, WA 98504

RE: 2013 Annual Report - Interstate Telecommunications, inc.
Penalty Assessment: UT-140894

Request for Mitigation :

Please accept this as our request for a waiver for a reduction or hopefly elimination of our $ 1,003 fine
forlate iing of our annual report.

1. We mailed our report on April 26th or 29th, 2014, During the week of May 5” we received our
letter back from the Us Postal service marked undeliverable. No stamp i terms of missing
postage, incorrect address. We then sent the report back to by federal express with a note of
apology.

2. Though probably immaterial, | believe your history will show us with constant and timely
reports. We only have a handful of public payphones leftin Washington and this fine will cost us
ALL of 2013, 2014, 2015 and probably our 2016 profits from these payphones.

‘Again, we apologize for our lateness on ths report and hope you can grant us mitigation.
o be safe, we are also sending this request federal express to be certain your receive timely.
Respectfully,
Frank . 7
President
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140894

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements. E

[ 11.  Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ 1Enclosed in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of § online at www.ute. wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
fora decision by an administrative law judge:

Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Taskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [>(b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above, STC ATIpu) Ll FeX
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
ineluding information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: /7y (montidayiyear), st & Emm o6, &, [eity, state]
ER A D ) -

Name of Respondeht (company) — please print @ ‘of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to & prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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