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November 8, 2012



David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P. O. Box 47250 
Olympia, Washington  98504-7250

RE: 	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Green Mountain H2O 
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties 
Docket UW-120865

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 13, 2012[footnoteRef:1], the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100 Penalty Assessment in docket UW-120865 against Green Mountain H2O (Green Mountain) for 21 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. The penalty assessment instructed Green Mountain to complete and sign the document, and send it to the commission within 15 days after receiving it. Green Mountain had until July 28, 2012 to file its response.  [1:  See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 13, 2012 to Green Mountain.] 


On October 18, 2012[footnoteRef:2], Green Mountain wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request), which is 97 days past the service date of July 13, 2012. In its Mitigation Request, Green Mountain does not disputes the violations occurred and states, “I am asking for a waiver in regards to the assessed failure to file penalty for my 2011 Annual Report. The 2011 Annual Report is now filed and Green Mountain H2O should be current with all filings. I have been working with my accountant to make sure this will not happen again. We already have 3rd quarter amounts put together and plan to file 2012 Annual Report early in 2013. I appreciate you reviewing my assessment and hopefully you can waive the penalty. Due to the economic climate it would be very difficult to pay this penalty. Thank you!” [2:  See attachment B for a copy of Green Mountain’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on October 22, 2012.] 






[bookmark: _GoBack]It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012[footnoteRef:3], Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets were mailed to all regulated water companies. In addition to other information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. The letter also stated a company may file a written request for an extension, however the request must be filed with the  commission by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why the extension is needed, along with the date the report will be filed. The company did not file a request for an extension. On May 14, 2012[footnoteRef:4], the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report. The company had substantial time and sufficient notice to file its annual report, if not by the May 1 deadline.  [3:  See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.]  [4:  See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company of May 14, 2012.] 


Green Mountain filed its completed annual report on June 27, 2012. Green Mountain did not file its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per business day for a total of $2,100. Green Mountain became regulated in April 2009 and has never received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in the past.

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty of $2,100. Green Mountain failed to file its response within the 15 day timeframe required for the commission to consider mitigation. In addition Green Mountain failed to establish any mitigating circumstances that explain or excuse its failure to submit its annual report. Staff recommends denying the mitigation request. 

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.  

Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-120865
PENALTY AMOUN

GREEN MOUNTAIN H20

PO BOX 240

10013 NE HAZEL DELL AVE. #240
VANCOUVER, WA 98685-5203

According 1o the Commission’s records, you have committed a violation of Commission rule:
‘Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires permitted water
companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 cach year and pay regulatory
fees annually on that date. You are classified as a water company. Commission records show that
you did not file an annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by May 1, 2012.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW,) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penaltics of
5100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separafe and
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continmuance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-110-505 as continuing violations, eiving rise to penalties of $100 for each day &
company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
‘amount $2,100 on the following basis:

‘On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all water companies registered in Washington
state. A letter from the commission’s Executive Secretary David W. Danner,
instructed these companics to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May.
1,2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May | would result in
a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension fo file the annual
report were asked 1o do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

en Mountain H20 did not file its znnual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21
business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty is $100 per day for a total
of $2,100.
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120865 PAGE2

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing 1o contest the penalty assessment. If there i 2 reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to o so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
‘The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
*  Paythe amount due.

« Request a hearing to contest the oceurrence of the violations.
« Request miltigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilties and
‘Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 13, 2012,

REGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120865

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testfy to the
matters set forth below and T have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[ 11.  Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have

[ 1Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $2,100 online at www.utc.wa,gov. My confirmation
numberis

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13, Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) sef out below.

[ 1@ Lask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.

OR [ ]b) Twaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correet.
Dated: _ [month/day/year],at __ [eity, state]

Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A petson is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes @ materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not
defense to & prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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Dear Ms. Andrews:

Tam asking for a waiver in regards to the assessed failure to file penalty for my 2011
Annual Report. The 2011 Annual Report is now filed and Green Mountain H20 should
be current with all flings. I have been working with my accountant to make sure this

will not happen again. We already have 3" quarter amounts put together and plan to file
2012 Annual Report early in 2013

1 appreciate you reviewing my assessment and hopefully you can waive the penalty. Due
t0 the economic climate it would be very difficult o pay this penalty. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Dan Class.
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STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1500 5. Evergreen Park Dr. SW, P.O. Box 47250  Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

(€360) 6641760 = TTY (360) 5863203
February 29,2012

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utiliies
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
 Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seck mitigation of the penalties in response o the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
Your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority o operate in Washington.

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 12
1f you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
‘These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of  penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
‘You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

.- o
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is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

‘What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
‘You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company
Title 80 RCW. that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.ute,wa.gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidenial document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheef.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www. e, wa,gov/annualseports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (transporiation
comparies) if your company ceased operations in 2011

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
o Ifyou are a gas distribution company. please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commis

ion Form 2.
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o If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

o Ifyou area class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 64-1152 or reames@utc.wa. gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

leed

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300'S. Evergreen Park Dr. ., RO, ox 47250  Olympia, Washinglon 935047250
(360) 661-1160 » TTY (360) 586-3203

May 14,2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

‘Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due.
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on May 2.

As of the date of this lefter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penalty willincrease by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you can do to mitigate your penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance

Tnvestigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.
Sincerely,

Dok

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary





