
 Service Date: July 16, 2024 
 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-240389 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,000  

 Investigation # 8903 
SERVICE VIA EMAIL 
 UBI: 602-010-680
Tom Wise Phone: (206) 798-2425
Tank Wise LLC 
5405 West Marginal Way SW 
Seattle, WA  98106 
Wtankwise@gmail.com 
 
 
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Tank Wise 
LLC (Tank Wise or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.040(2)(a) by 
failing to determine the precise location of an underground facility and RCW 19.122.053 by failing 
to file a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report to the Commission.  
 
RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 
civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 
subsequent violation within a three-year period.  
 
On May 16, 2024, the Safety Committee heard case 24-019 filed by Jonathan Coddon 
(Complainant) against Tank Wise and determined Tank Wise violated RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) by 
failing to determine the precise location of an underground facility and RCW 19.122.053 by failing 
to file a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report to the Commission. The Safety 
Committee recommended that the Commission impose a $2,000 penalty.  
 
Commission staff (Staff) reviewed the documents, reports, and communications with the Safety 
Committee and agreed with the Safety Committee’s findings and recommendations. 
 
The Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $2,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) 
against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. First Alleged Violation: 

The Complainant states that on July 1, 2022, Tank Wise failed to pothole as required in 
order to determine the precise location of an underground facility. Tank Wise proceeded to 
operate a backhoe for excavation and caused damage to the underground natural gas 
facility that had been marked.  
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 Second Alleged Violation: 

The Complainant reported that on July 1, 2022, Tank Wise caused damage to an 
underground natural gas facility and failed to report the damage to the Commission as 
required. 

 
2. Analysis: 

First Violation: The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) failing to 
determine the precise location of an underground facility. The Complainant reported that 
Tank Wise was performing excavation of its property when it struck a natural gas facility 
that had been located and marked. During the review, the Complainant explained Tank 
Wise did not pothole for the known facility before beginning excavation, and that it was 
not notified of the damage until later after it received a substantial bill from the utility 
company. The Complainant provided photos that demonstrated there were locate marks on 
the ground, and that Tank Wise did not pothole. Tank Wise acknowledged it caused the 
damage, and that it did not pothole. Tank Wise reported it was working for a General 
Contractor and claimed it was not aware that the Complainant didn’t know about the extent 
of the costs incurred as a result of the incident. 
 
Second Violation: The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.053 failing to file a 
Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report to the Commission. The Complainant 
reported that after learning about the damage that occurred on July 1, 2022, and the costs 
incurred, it started looking into the incident and discovered that Tank Wise never reported 
the damage incident to the Commission’s DIRT system. Tank Wise reported that it 
believed it had done what was necessary by reporting the damage to the facility owner and 
the general contractor.    
 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Tank Wise workers, utility 
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury 
and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 24 months, Tank Wise has submitted 8 
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Tank Wise’s knowledge of 
the requirements of the Washington State Dig Law. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
Tank Wise did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation after the Complainant filed a complaint with the Safety Committee. 

4. The likelihood of recurrence. 
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The likelihood of recurrence depends on Tank Wise’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to participate in Dig Safe Training and to comply with all the requirements of 
RCW 19.122.   
 

5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  
 

• Penalty Assessment 
On April 9, 2015, the Commission issued Tank Wise a Penalty Assessment of $2,000 
for two violations of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) that occurred on August 20, 2013, and 
October 16, 2013. See DG-150491 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) for failing to pothole as 
required in order to determine the precise location of an underground facility. 

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.053 for failing to file a Damage 
Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report to the Commission. 

The total Penalty Assessment is $2,000 with an offer to suspend a $1,200 portion of the penalty for 
one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 

1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 
90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

 
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $2,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $800 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend a $1,200 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o Tank Wise management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete 

NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o Tank Wise must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 16, 2024. 
 

/s/Michael Howard 
       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-240389 Investigation # 8903 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and: 
[  ] Enclose $2,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $800 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $1,200 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must attend 
Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this 
Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the 
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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