

## STATE OF WASHINGTON

## UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

621 Woodland Square Loop S.E. • Lacey, Washington 98503 P.O. Box 47250 • Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 • TTY 1-800-833-6384 or 711

January 14, 2021

Records Management 01/14/21 14:13 State Of WASH UTIL. AND TRANSP

COMMISSIO

Mark L. Johnson, Executive Director and Secretary Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. South Sound College Hunks, LLC, d/b/a College Hunks Hauling Junk Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties Docket TV-200990

Dear Mr. Johnson:

On January 8, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) issued a penalty assessment against South Sound College Hunks, LLC, d/b/a College Hunks Hauling Junk, (South Sound College Hunks or Company) in the amount of \$400 for violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers, as follows:

• Four violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Company allowed driver Nofoaiga Moi to operate a commercial motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on four separate occasions between October 24 and November 9, 2020.

On January 11, 2021, South Sound College Hunks filed with the Commission its application for mitigation of penalties. In the request for mitigation, Susan Davis, owner of South Sound College Hunks, admits the violations, states the violations have been corrected, and asks that the penalty be waived.

In response to the Company's request for mitigation, South Sound College Hunks corrected the violations by relieving Nofoaiga Moi of driving duties until a valid medical certificate has been obtained. For this reason, staff recommends the Commission deny the Company's request to waive the entire penalty, and instead, recommends the Commission reduce the penalty of \$400 to \$200.

Mark L. Johnson January 14, 2021 Page 2

If you have any questions, please contact Michael Dotson, Compliance Investigator, Transportation Safety, at (360) 480-5420, or by email at Michael.Dotson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Digitally signed by Sharp, Jason (UTC) Date: 2021.01.14 10:26:08 -08'00'

Jason Sharp Motor Carrier Safety Supervisor, Transportation Safety