From: Pearson, Rayne (UTC)

To: UTC DL Records Center

Subject: FW: Letter from DRG Construction Inc.
Date: Wednesday, March 25, 2020 6:20:32 PM
Attachments: DRG letter to Washington Utilities.pdf

Will you please file this request for mitigation in Docket DG-200135 and make sure it gets internal
distribution? Thank you! Please also include the email below.

From: Shannon May [mailto:accounts@drgconstructioninc.com]
Sent: Wednesday, March 25, 2020 4:55 PM

To: Pearson, Rayne (UTC) <rayne.pearson@utc.wa.gov>
Subject: Letter from DRG Construction Inc.

To whom it may concern,

I am writing this letter to ask for the fines to be deferred or forgiven. Due to the COVID-19
virus and the circumstances around it these fines would be detrimental to my small family
business.

Thank you,

Desiree W Mims


mailto:rayne.pearson@utc.wa.gov
mailto:records@utc.wa.gov

Service Date: March 11, 2020

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-200135

PENALTY AMOUNT: §2,000
Investigation # 8131

UBI: 604-070-825

DRG Construction, Inc. Phone: (253) 414-2504

P.O. Box 64727
—University Place, WA 58040

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that DRG
Construction, Inc., (DRG Construction or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington
(RCW) 19.122.055 by failing to provide the required notice to facility operators through a one-
aumber locator service before excavating and causing damage to an underground natural gas
facility. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number
locator service and causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility 1s subject to a

civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports
submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE) that identified natural gas damage events involving DRG
Construction. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $2,000
penalty against the Company on the following grounds:

First Violation

On September 4, 2018, DRG Construction struck and damaged PSE’s natural gas line
while excavating at 2217 N Pearl St., Tacoma, Washington. DRG Construction did not
request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities
before excavating. On October 11, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool
(DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural
gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for DRG Construction at this
location on this date.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the
Company on February 14, 2019, that included detailed information about the requirements
of Washington state’s underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of
penalties for each violation.

Second Violation

On July 29, 2019, DRG Construction struck and damaged PSE’s underground gas line
while excavating during building construction at 11715 138" Ave. Ct. E, Puyallup,
Washington. Before beginning excavation, DRG Construction failed to request a dig ticket

from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities.
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On September 4, 2019, PSE submitted a DIRT report 1dent1fymg the Company as the party
responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig

ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $2,000 penalty against DRG Construction for two
violations of RCW 19.122.055 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator
service before excavating and causing damage to an underground natural gas facility, as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on September
4,2018; and
e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on July 29,

2019.

Staff’s research indicates that DRG Construction has submitted 28 requests to locate
underground utilities since January 1, 2019. After considering all of the circumstances,
Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend $1,500 of the $2,000 penalty for a
period of one year, subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company incurs no further
violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) Company
management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training
provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months
of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $2,000,
with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, $1,500 of the $2,000 penalty amount
subject to the conditions listed above. If the Company fails to comply with the conditions,
the $1,500 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any
new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, 11 not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient
to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur,
~ you may deny_gggmlﬁlng the walatmn(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through
evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.
Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written

statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in
denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the tollowing;:

o Pay the $2,000 penalty amount due; or

e Pay $500 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to

suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $1,500 of the penalty subject to the following
conditions:

o Company field crew responsible for excavation, including management, attend Dig
Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this
Notice; and

o Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of
attending the training; and

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this
Notice; or

~» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 11, 2020.

/s/Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON

Director, Administrative Law Division






WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-200135, Investigation # 8131

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within
15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper 1f needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the

following statements:

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $2.000 in payment of
the penalty.

Iy |
}’,] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and have encfosefj $380 of the Coa \»JJ o)
penalty amount. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the

remaining $1,500 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Company employees, including ownership and field crew invoived in excavations,
attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of this
Notice; and

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of
attending the training; and

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date
of this Notice.

[ 1 3. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons

[ describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

[ ] a) [Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) [Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[¥]1 4. Request mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application
here, your request will be denied): '

| ] a) 1ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR D(] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: |[Month/Day/Y ear], at | City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant






RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”







