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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

SAFE-TO-GO-MOVERS, LLC d/b/a 

JAMES & JOHN MOVERS 

 

in the amount of $10,200 

DOCKET TV-170233 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO       

    $5,200 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On April 19, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $10,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Safe-To-Go-

Movers, LLC d/b/a James & John Movers (Safe-To-Go-Movers or Company) for 103 

critical violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which adopts 

by reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 391 related to driver 

qualifications and Part 395 related to driver hours of service.1      

 

2 On April 27, 2017, Safe-To-Go-Movers responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. In its response, the Company addressed only the violations related to its 

employee’s medical certificate. The Company accepted responsibility for its conduct and 

explained that the violations were immediately corrected. The Company further 

explained that it has created electronic copies of driver licenses and medical certificates 

to use as backup when hard copies are misplaced. 

 

3 On May 3, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. The Penalty Assessment 

includes a $10,100 penalty for 101 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) and a $100 

penalty for two violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). Staff recommends reducing the 

portion of the penalty assessed for violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) to $5,100 

because these are first-time violations and the Company took prompt corrective action. 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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Staff does not recommend any further mitigation because the Company failed to address 

the other violation in its response. Accordingly, Staff recommends the Commission 

assess a reduced penalty of $5,200. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.4   

 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category in turn. 

 

6 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $10,100 penalty for 101 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because Safe-To-Go-Movers allowed one driver 

who was not medically examined and certified to drive on 101 occasions in the six 

months preceding the compliance review. In its response, the Company explained that it 

immediately corrected the violations and implemented a system to prevent violations 

going forward. 

 

7 Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of $5,100 because these are 

first-time violations and the Company took prompt corrective action. We agree with 

Staff’s recommendation. In its response, the Company acknowledged the violations and 

                                                 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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provided assurances of future compliance. In light of these factors, we assess a $5,100 

penalty for 101 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). 

8 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for two 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) because Safe-To-Go-Movers allowed two of its 

employees to drive without making a record of duty status when operating without a 

shorthaul exemption. The Company did not address this violation in its response. 

 

9 Staff recommends no mitigation for this portion of the penalty. We agree. Safe-To-Go-

Movers failed to provide any information describing the steps it has taken to correct the 

violations and prevent them from reoccurring. In addition, the Commission could have 

assessed a $200 penalty, but, because these are first-time violations, assessed a “per 

category” rather than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we find that no further 

penalty reduction is warranted. 

 

10 To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff to 

establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements. 

 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

11 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 

12 (2) Safe-To-Go-Movers is a household goods carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

 

13 (3) Safe-To-Go-Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it allowed a driver 

who was not medically examined and certified to drive on 101 occasions during 

the six months preceding the compliance review. 

 

14 (4) Safe-To-Go-Movers be penalized $5,100 for 101 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(a). 

 

15 (5) Safe-To-Go-Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) when it allowed its 

employees to drive without making a record of duty status on two occasions in the 
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six months preceding the compliance review. 

 

16 (6) Safe-To-Go-Movers should be penalized $100 for two violations of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 395.8(a). 

 

17 (7) Safe-To-Go-Movers should be permitted to file jointly with Staff a mutually  

  agreeable arrangement for paying the $5,200 penalty.   

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

18 (1) Safe-To-Go-Movers, LLC d/b/a James & John Movers’ request for mitigation of 

the $10,200 penalty is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $5,200.   

 

19 (2) Safe-To-Go-Movers, LLC d/b/a James & John Movers must either  pay the  

  penalty or file jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement no later than  

  May 19, 2017. 

   

20 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 8, 2017. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


