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ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO 
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BACKGROUND 

 

1 On February 29, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) mailed annual report and regulatory fee forms to household goods 

companies. The forms included a reminder that companies must file their annual reports 

and pay their regulatory fees by Monday, May 2, 2016, or face penalties of $100 for each 

violation of Commission rules. In the case of continuing violations, each day’s 

continuance is a separate violation. RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Maxim, LLC (Maxim or Company) did not file an annual report on May 2, 2016, and had 

not made that filing by May 16. On June 29, the Commission assessed a penalty of 

$1,000 against Maxim, calculated as $100 per business day from May 2 to May 16. 

 

3 On August 11, 2016, Maxim responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation based on the information provided. In 

its response, the Company states, “I am applying for mitigation as I didn’t do any moving 

jobs in 2015, also, I didn’t receive any letters asking for that as I moved twice between 

February and May. As discussed on the phone (August), I thought that there is nothing to 

file on a yearly basis. Please, I am asking for a penalty waiver as I didn’t even get any 

business income from moving jobs during this year.” 

 

4 On August 12, 2016, Maxim filed a complete annual report. No regulatory fee was due. 

 

5 On August 12, 2016, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the Company became regulated in 2015 and 

therefore has no prior violations of WAC 480-15-480.  
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DISCUSSION 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires household goods carriers to file annual reports by May 1 of 

each year, or the first business day thereafter. Companies are responsible for complying 

with their legal obligations, and the Company should not rely on reminders from the 

Commission to ensure compliance. 

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation. The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and 

the likelihood the violation will recur.1 Here, Maxim has since corrected the violation by 

filing its annual report. Although Maxim claims it did not perform any household goods 

moves in 2015, the Company is still obligated to comply with Commission rules and 

annual reporting requirements as long as it maintains its household goods carrier permit. 

Because we have routinely granted mitigation to similarly-situated companies in their 

first year of operation, the Commission will exercise its discretion to reduce the penalty 

to $250. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) Maxim, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, 

and the penalty is reduced to $250.  

 

9 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than August 30, 2016. 

 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 16, 2016. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website. 

 


