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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

PARKING & TRANSPORTATION 

MANAGEMENT SERVICES, LLC 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
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DOCKET TE-151040 

 

ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION 

TO $250 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year. WAC 480-30-071. On February 27, 2015, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual report 

and regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers. The forms included a 

reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees by 

May 1, 2015, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules. In the 

case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation. RCW 

80.04.405. 

 

2 Parking & Transportation Management Services, LLC (Parking & Transportation 

Management or Company) did not file its annual report on May 1, 2015, and had not 

made that filing by May 15. On June 10, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 

against Parking & Transportation Management, calculated as $100 per business day from 

May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 15, 2015, Parking & Transportation Management filed its annual report and paid 

its regulatory and late payment fees. On June 19, the Company responded to the 

Commission’s penalty assessment, admitting the violations and requesting mitigation 

based on the written information provided. The Company explained that it overlooked its 

annual report filing requirement, and has implemented procedures to assure future filings 

are made by May 1. 

 

4 On June 29, 2015, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending a penalty 

reduction to $25 per day, or $250, because the company has no prior violations of WAC 

480-30-071.  
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DISCUSSION 

 

5 WAC 480-30-071 requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports by May 1 

of each year. Companies are responsible for complying with their legal obligations, and 

the Company should have ensured its annual report was timely filed.   

 

6 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, including 

whether the violation was promptly corrected and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  

Here, Parking & Transportation Management has corrected the violation by filing its 

annual report and paying its regulatory and late payment fees. The Company has been 

regulated since 2014, making 2015 the first year it was required to file an annual report 

with the Commission. Because we have granted mitigation to similarly situated 

companies in their first year of operation, the Commission will exercise its discretion to 

reduce the penalty to $250. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Parking & Transportation Management Services, LLC’s request for mitigation of 

the $1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $250. 

 

8 (2) The $250 penalty is due and payable no later than July 13, 2015. 

 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 2, 2015. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


