STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 8. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ° TTY (360) 586-8203

September 28, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Telecare, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-121011

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 31, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $500
Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-121011 against Telecare, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires competitively classified
telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 21, 2012, Telecare, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Telecare, Inc. does not dispute that the violation
occurred. The company states, “Unfortunately we do not do much business in Washington. We
can’t afford a $500 penalty. Can we pay $250.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May | deadline. On February 29, 20122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets .
were mailed to all regulated competitively classified telecommunications companies. In addition
to other information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the
annual report form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid
enforcement action. On May 14, 2012°, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that
had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of
$800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than
May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day
for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late
report.

1 See attachment A for a copy of Telecare, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012.
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Telecare, Inc. filed its annual report on May 15, 2012, which is 10 business days past the

* deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a
penalty of $250. Telecare, Inc. became regulated in January 1996 and received a penalty in 2010
for filing a delinquent annual report. The prior penalty increased the current penalty by $25 per
business day, resulting in an additional $250, for a total penalty of $500.

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty as it was already reduced and because of
Telecare, Inc.’s, continued violations of WAC 480-120-382. Telecare, Inc’s annual report was 14
days past the deadline of May 1, 2012, making the company liable for a penalty of up to $1,400.
The commission nevertheless exercised its discretion and assessed a penalty of $250 against
Telecare, Inc. based on the number of business days the company’s filing was late, rather than on
the basis of calendar days. The commission, as a courtesy mails each company an annual report
form and regulatory fee sheet. Staff believes that the $500 penalty assessed is a reasonable
punitive measure to impose for the company’s continued violations of WAC 480-15-480.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson{@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sillace)

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121011

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed

{ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am compelent to testify to the

matters st forth below and [ have personal knowtedge of those matters. T hereby make, under
outh, the following statements,

L1t

Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred. I have

[ ] Enclosed $500 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of $300 online at www utc. wa.gov. My coq[}?g‘x\g&on
numberis
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Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged wolalmm\dld not Ly,

oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is 4 pmc.c:é; 1%
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative lavw judge fd?‘lx SE
decision by an administrative law judge:

_.l

{ﬁ] 3. Application for mitigation, [ admit the violations, but T believe that the penalty should
be ruduced for the reason(s) set out below.

Unfor hwnate EDWL do not do much bisness 1 Washingron
We coant afford a 4500% Pm\ Con we m\} \525065

[ }ay Iask forahearing for a decision by an dministrative law judge baded on the
information presented above.
OR f¢] b)

1 waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: ?l 1S l {2~ [month/day/year}, at li )b‘é’ ‘ﬁ']“g, ;ij_ [city, state)
Michelle Parpedt

\ame of Respondent (company) ~ please print

ature of Applicant

o Y St R

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Pexjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes @ materially false statement which he knows 10 be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. W, RO, Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 4641160 * TTY (360} 586-8203
February 29,2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transpontation Commission (UTC).

What Is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
o Complete and file ene paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
» Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What huppens if you do not file 3 completed annual report and pay regulnfory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May |, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and 3100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. IT you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory tees by June 1, 2012, Staf¥ will initiate proceedings 10 have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you de not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If you do not pay your company's repulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition [0 the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day aller
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of {ime if you are unabie to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may filc a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

o il s O
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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 8. Evergreen Park Dr, S.AV, RO. Box 47250 ¢ Clympis, Washington 28504-7250
(3607 6641160 « TTY (360} 585-8203
february 29, 2012

Dear Reguiated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What Is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
+ Complete and [ile one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201§ annual
report form
+  Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file 2 completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do rot file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the U'TC wil] assess a Ginancial penafty of $100 for cach business day after May |
that the report is not fided and $S100 for each business day afler May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, alter you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years, If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington,

What happens if you do not pay the regoiatory fees by May 12
If you do not pay your company’s regufatory [ees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of 3100 per business day aiter
May | that the lees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time i you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to e your completed annual report. but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must siate a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report, The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

e o
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is approved, you will still be Hable for penalties and inteeest payments il you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your repistration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file 2 closing annual report based
on the months of eperation during 2011 even il you cancel your registration or permit.

May vou designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible 1o request confidential treanment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents beeause the avthority for such treatment is found
only in RCW $0.04.095, If a Title §! company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.nite, wa.goviannual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the anmual reports page at the UTC
website www.ute. wa.gov/annualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your repont electronically

Cancel your registration (lelecommunications companies) or permit (Iransportalion
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2611,

* * & 3

Where do you mail the completed annusl report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilitics and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional infermation you should file?
* I you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Enerpy Regulatory Commission Form 2,
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHEMGTOM UTHITIES AND TRANSPORTANION COMMESSION
L3060 8. Evergicedt Park B, S0V, BG, Tov 42250 = Olympla, Washingion 98504-7250
(360) B64-1 100 « FTY (360} 58683207

May 14, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Atlention:

Yaur 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by Inw. Financial pennlties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the dafe of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penaity will increase b)'
S100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells vou what you ean do to mitigate your penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmurked no Inter than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have filed laie in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at wwwute.wagay. H you have
queslions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360} 664-11035 or mperkinson@@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

4{,%""":? omr C_,! L B

Pavid W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretary
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