STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203

December 18, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Collier Technologies, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-120964

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 30, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-120964 against Collier Technologies, LLC, (Collier) for 21
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
competitively classified telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the
commission no later than May 1 each year.

On August 13, 2012, Collier wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation
Request). ' In its Mitigation Request, Collier disputes that the violations occurred. The company
states, “I followed the instructions for filing online. These instructions were incomplete. I
worked with the UTC personnel who informed me after the due date that it was incomplete. |
feel that T made more than a reasonable effort to fully complete the annual report before it was
done.”

On May 21, 2012, Collier emailed commission staff and said it filed its annual report on April
30. On that same day, commission staff responded to Collier informing it that the commission
did not have a copy of the report in its database. Commission staff informed Collier it would
double check and verify that the report was not received.

On May 22, 2012, commission compliance staff emailed the financial services staff (financial
services) to determine if the report was filed or completed. Financial services responded to both
compliance staff and Collier saying it received the financial documents, but no report. Financial

1 See attachment A for a copy of Collier Technologies, LLC’s Mitigation Request,
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services asked the company if it sent the annual report.

On June S, 2012, Collier emailed the commission stating, “My sincere apologies for missing this.
I was under the impression that this issue was resolved and had not seen any of the email
messages sent on 2012-5-22 until now. Along with the financial documents submitted on the
web form, [ sent a terse report that there was no telecommunication income for the 2011 year.
The web form which I used seemed to indicate that no formal document was required. If this is
not the case, I will resolve this as best I can. Since the company is still without customers or
funding aside from what little I can muster from my payroll, we are without the funds to pay for
the substantial late fees such an oversight on my part may have incurred.” Commission staff
emailed Collier in response stating the commission had not received the annual report and
providing a copy of the Regulatory Fee packet and the Annual Report forms.

Financial Services worked with the company to complete the report and obtain the required
documents. The report was submitted June 11, 2012,

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated competitively classified telecommunications companies. 2 The cover
letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual repott form, pay any
regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action, On May 14,
2012, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report
notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800°. The letter went on to explain
that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive
mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report.

Collier filed its annual report on June 11, 2012, which is more than 21 business days past the
deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per day, for a maximum penalty of $2,100. Collier
became regulated in September 2010 and has never received a penalty for filing a delinquent
annual report. Therefore, staff supports mitigating the assessed penalty from $2,100 to $1,050,
which represents a 50 percent reduction because this is Collier’s first late filing.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

allace, Assistant Director
 Consumer Protection and Communications

2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2612,
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012,
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Attachment A

Received b Ahﬁws-‘r Lo\

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-120964

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if nceded.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testily to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby nmchEGElVED
oath, the following statements.

' AUG 132012

WASH. UT & TP COMM

[ T 1 Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[ ]Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

[ ]1Submitted my payment of $2,100 online at www,utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is =

[ 12 Request fora hearing. | believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which ig3 proces3
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative Jawsjudge fsr a
decision by an administrative law judge: =2 LS

rv
v
B<] 3. Application for mitigation, [ admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty sfguld -
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, T £oHewed “the (ndhenetions For
("."-na pating, Tlese inshthiemd ece tatemfich €. T worpel wiih
Fhe WTE parsendel whe tnformed e aftar e ducdile that ik wis
intemflere, T Lee\ Aned T puda More Yein A ftnyonnble addory o

LAy Complere Ane antmnl repark bebore o4 wig dne.
[ ] a) Task forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR  [%] b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
present directly above,

i
) T2
1

B HY €13

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

og¢loa) 2.1
Dated: 2012 0809T15215¢  (month/day/ycar], at S eale ,Washiaghon [city, state]
Colliec Vechaogies, LLE. A Qdamp-Collion.

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Sigfiture of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any oflicial
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
¢lement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a

defense to a prosccution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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Attachment B

SYATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. 5.8, PO, Box 47250 « Olympla, Washington 98504-7250
(260) 6G4-1160 » TTY (360} 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annua! Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State kaw requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees lo the Washinglon Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is vequirved of you?
By May 1, you must:
s Complete and file onc paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 1 annual
report form
o Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fecs on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annuat report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May |
that the report is not fited and $100 for cach business day after May | the fees are unpaid,
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response (o the asscssment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years, If you have not {iled your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Stafi will initinte proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of 3100 per business day after
May { that the fees are unpatd,

May you request an extension of time if you sre unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may {ile a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

© e o
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is approved, you will still be fiable for penalties and interest péymenis if you fail to pay your
regulntory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no Jonger operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our wehbsite (see below), but if your company operated in Washinglon at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even il you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy 1wo conditions:

{1} You are cligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, il you operate an clectric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company, Transportation companies, regulaled under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents beeause the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095, If a Title 81 company {iles its annual report or foe sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.nte.wa.gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your reperd is not & confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the {ee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the ammual reports page at the UTC
website www,ute. wa.gov/annvalreports:

Obtain eleetronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancet your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (Iransportation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2041,

- ®» &

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regutatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
» If you are a gas disteibution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
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[ you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Encrgy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

¢ IVyou are a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form ®-1 - including statistics specilic to the state of Washington.

IF you have questions about any aspeet of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Camnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcamesfute. wa.gov,

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an altemate format, please cail 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

- Sincerely,

JZ;@/ c/ﬁ_,__

David W. Danner :
Executive Director and Sceretary

Enclosures
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASHING TON
WASHINGTON UTILTTIES AND TRANSPORIATION COMMISSION

1300 8, Dvergreen Park De S, RO, fov 47250 « Ofympla, Washington 985001-7250
(360) G6A-1160 o TTY (360) SAG-8207

May 14, 2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and "Transportation Commission (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you ean do to mitigate your penalty,

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than NMay 25, commission stafl’
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penaltics of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have liled late in the past live years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.ute.wapov, I you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsonf@ute.wa.gov.
Sincerely,
7
s e

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary




