WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-050027
PENALTY AMOUNT: $ 100.00
HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:
Bumble Bee Moving North, Inc.
17903 State Route 9, Suite B
Snohomish, WA 98296

The Commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of
Washington Utilities and Transportation rules; specifically WAC 480-15-480 which
requires household goods carriers to furnish annual reports to the Commission no later
than May 1 each year. Despite repeated notice of this obligation, you did not file an
annual report until October 26, 2004. As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you
that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $100.00. The basis for this
penalty assessment is as follows:

On March 9, 2004, the Commission mailed 2003 Annual Report forms and 2004
Regulatory Fee packets to household goods carriers in Washington State. A letter
signed by Carole Washburn instructed companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2004.
Companies requesting an extension were asked to do so prior to May 1, providing a
reason for the requested extension.

On June 8, 2004, a letter signed by Carole Washburn was sent to each household goods
carrier that had not filed an annual report by May 1, 2004. The letter stated that Staff
intended to recommend enforcement action, including possible penalties, for any
company that failed to file a completed annual report by July 1, 2004.

In July 2004, Licensing Services Staff reviewed annual reports and regulatory fees for
household goods carriers, and compiled a list of companies that were out of compliance.
Staff identified that as of July 1, 2004, Bumble Bee Moving North, Inc. (Bumble Bee), had
not filed a 2003 annual report. The matter was referred to Business Practices
Investigations for enforcement action. Subsequently, Bumble Bee filed the annual
report on October 26, 2004.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO. TV-050027

Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you
believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the
occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations
occurred, or have other facts you believe the Commission should have considered,
RCW 80.04.405 provides that you may make application for mitigation of this penalty.
To do so, complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington
98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may,
although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The
Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination.

If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the
amount of the penalty, you may request one in your request for hearing or mitigation.
If you request a hearing for either reason, please state why you believe a hearing is
called for in your circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of
the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause
the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.
Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against
you.

H
DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this / 9~ day of January 2005.

MA: N SHOWALTER, Chairwoman

RICHARD HEMSTAD, Commissioner

Yo7

PATRICK OSHIE, Commissioner
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES
I have read and understand RCW 9.72.030, which prescribes penalties for making false

affidavits (printed below), and hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of
the penalties (as described on the attached form), for the following reasons:

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed and notarized, and received by the
Commission within 15 days of your receipt of this form.

I swear that the foregoing is a true and complete statement of the facts in this case.

Signature of Applicant

Sworn to and subscribed before me
this day of
20

NOTARY PUBLIC in and for the
State of Washington, residing in

RCW 9.72.030:

"Perjury-Second Degree: Every person who, whether orally or in writing, and whether
as a volunteer or in a proceeding or investigation authorized by law, shall knowingly
swear falsely concerning any matter whatsoever shall be guilty of perjury in the second
degree and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state penitentiary for not more
than five years or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year."



