Service Date: February 3, 2022

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES (AMENDED)

AMENDED PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210771

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation #8388

UBI: 602-242-586

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Lariviere, Inc., d/b/a T. Lariviere Equipment & Excavation P.O. Box 100 Athol, ID 83801 Demi@lariviere.co

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Lariviere, Inc., d/b/a T. Lariviere Equipment & Excavation (T. Lariviere or Respondent) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On June 26, 2020, T. Lariviere was excavating at 801 East Handy Rd, Colbert, Washington. While excavating T. Lariviere struck an underground Avista Corporation (Avista or Company) gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by Avista on August 12, 2020, indicated that the Respondent was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

On July 19, 2021, T. Lariviere was excavating at 0 S. Lee, Liberty Lake, Washington. While excavating T. Lariviere struck an underground Avista gas facility. The DIRT report submitted by Avista on August 5, 2021, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, correspondence from the Respondent, and a review of the One-Call Center database. Staff contacted T. Lariviere seeking further information or documentation. T. Lariviere responded to Staff's request by agreeing to submit additional information. As of the date of this Notice, Staff has received no additional information. The documents reviewed identified two (2) natural gas events that involved T. Lariviere damaging natural gas facilities while excavating without valid locate tickets. The Company was issued a warning letter on March 5, 2020, for damage that occurred on July 24, 2019, but has not been assessed any prior penalties.

Based on these factors, Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$1,000 penalty for the above-cited violations of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within forty-five (45) days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and (3) the Company timely pays the \$200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation to offer to suspend a portion of the penalty amount subject to the conditions described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

# <u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due: or
- Pay the \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend the remaining \$800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - T. Lariviere management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 45 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending training; and
  - o T. Lariviere must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, at records@utc.wa.gov, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 3, 2022.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210771 Investigation #8388

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment the pena	t of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred lty.	ed and enclose \$1,000 in payment of
[]2	the pena	lty, and I accept the Commission's offer to sus lty amount subject to the following conditions T. Lariviere supervisors and applicable field provided through NUCA within 45 days of the Assessment; and T. Lariviere must submit documentation of the Commission within five (5) days of atter T. Lariviere must not commit any additional twelve (12) months of the date of this Penalty	spend, and ultimately waive, \$800 of s: I staff must attend dig safe training he date of this Penalty  of that attendance to ending the training; and I violations of RCW 19.122 within
[] 2.	describe	the violation. I believe that the alleged violat below (if you do not include reasons supportional be denied):	
OR	[ ] a) [ ] b)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the administrative law judge for a decision.  I ask for a Commission decision based solely	-
[]3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reconstructed for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your applicable, your request will be denied):		
	e under pe	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the administrative law judge for a decision.  I ask for a Commission decision based solely nalty of perjury under the laws of the State of tion I have presented on any attachments, is tree.	on the information I provided above. Washington that the foregoing,
Dated:		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."