Service Date: August 25, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250556
PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000
Investigation # 9115
EMAIL SERVICE

Doug Konold

1805 Sunshine Way
Chewelah, WA 99109
DAKonold@hotmail.com
Doug@delphi_darkhorse.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Doug and
Justin Konold (Konolds or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Konolds. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved the Konolds damaging a natural
gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $5,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On June 3, 2025, Doug and Justin Konold were excavating at 1805 Sunshine Way,
Chewelah, Washington. While excavating, Justin Konold struck and damaged an
underground Avista Corporation (Avista) natural gas facility. The 30-Day report submitted
by Avista on June 30, 2025, indicated that the Konolds were excavating without a valid
request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:
The alleged violations concern RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On June
3, 2025, an Avista natural gas transmission line was damaged at 1805 Sunshine Way,
Chewelah, WA. In the Incident Report submitted by Avista, it states that the homeowner
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was digging on the property with no locates and hit an 8” transmission line with an
excavator. The damage caused a puncture in the line, release of gas and loss of service to
29 customers. The Avista gas responder noted in the report that the property owner was
aware of the gas lines on their property and still did not call for locates prior to excavating
on June 3, 2025.

On July 9, 2025, Staff spoke with Avista by phone and they explained they had been out to
the same address in April 2025 and had lengthy conversations with Doug and Justin
Konold about the gas lines on their property. Avista reiterated that it explained to the
Konolds the Dig Law and the requirements to request locates before excavating. Avista
explained that on June 3, 2025, when it arrived on site, Doug explained that he and his son
Justin had been moving piles of dirt. He further explained that Justin was operating the
backhoe to scoop up and move the piles. Doug said that Justin was not very experienced
with the bucket and when he was scooping down, he dug down too deep with the excavator
bucket and hit the gas line. Avista reported that it observed the backhoe parked on site but
did not see Justin on the premises.

On July 9, 2025, Staff spoke with Doug Konold by phone and he explained that he thought
he knew where the property line was because Avista had been out there in the past to show
him where the line was. Doug explained that the yellow pipeline markers were a far
distance away and that he realized only after his neighbor cut the tall grass that his line of
sight was off significantly. Doug was regretful that he miscalculated and that he was not
doing a better job supervising his son.

Staff reviewed the One Call Center ticket database and found one ticket request submitted
by Doug Konold for 1805 Sunshine Way over the past 12 months. Doug and Justin Konold
did not have a valid locate request for this address at the time the damage occurred.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to the Konolds, workers, utility
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury
and/or loss of property. As a result of the incident, 29 residents lost service.

Whether the violation is intentional.

This violation appears to be due to negligence by the Konolds rather than a lack of
knowledge regarding Washington State’s dig law. Doug Konold has submitted a locate
request for this address previously and acknowledged he is aware of the Dig Law
requirements. Doug Konold believed he already knew where the gas line was on his
property and therefore did not believe it was necessary to submit another locate request.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Konolds actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-call location service every time prior to excavation.
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4. The likelihood of recurrence.
The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Konold’s actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.

5. The Company’s previous violations and penalties.
The Konolds have no previous warning letters or penalties regarding the Dig Law.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Doug and
Justin Konolds as follows:

e $5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$4,000 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:

1) The Konolds complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility
Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;

2) The Konolds must submit documentation of training completion to the Commission;
and

3) The Konolds must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $1,000 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $4,000
portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
o Each individual responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe
Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service
of this Penalty Assessment; and
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o The Konolds must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission (see attachment); and
o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov)."

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 25, 2025.
/s/Connor Thompson

CONNOR THOMPSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250556 Investigation # 9115

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred:
Enclose $5,000 in payment of the penalty.

Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment

portal.

Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $4,000 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Each individual responsible for excavation must complete Dig Safe training
provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment;
and

o The Konolds must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and

o The Konolds must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
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OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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