Service Date: December 19, 2022

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220896
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
SERVICE VIA EMAIL Investigation #8641
UBI: 604-146-676
Palisade Homes LLC
20810 E. 1% Ave
Greenacres, WA 99016
Nate Rasmussen
NS8rasmussen@hotmail.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Palisade
Homes LLC (Palisade or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before
beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a
one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil
penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and
hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the
following grounds:

On July 28, 2022, Palisade was excavating at 2123 S. Avalon Ridge Ln, Liberty Lake,
Washington. While excavating, the Company struck an underground Avista Corporation
(Avista) gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by Avista
on August 9, 2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate
ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage information from Avista,
a review of the One-Call center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Palisade damaging a
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. Before this incident, the
Commission issued one warning letter to Palisade for excavation without a valid locate
ticket.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW
19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty for one year, and
then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew
responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National
Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the



PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-20047020896 PAGE 2

Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the
date of this Penalty Assessment.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation for a Penalty Assessment and assesses a
$1,000 penalty.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Palisade management and the field crew responsible for excavation must complete
NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpktévndh) within 90
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission within S days of attending training; and

o Palisade must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months
of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.
If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you
are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 19, 2022.
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within
15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the
following statements:

1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of
the penalty.

¢/[2.  Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred. I enclose a $200 partial payment
of the penalty, and I accept the Commission’s offer to suspend and ultimately waive the
$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
o Palisade supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training
provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Penalty
Assessment: and
o Palisade must submit documentation of that attendance to
the Commission within S days of attending the training; and
o Palisade must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months
of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.

4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application
here, your request will be denied):

a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR b) TIask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 1/3/23 [Month/Day/Year], at __ Spokane Washingto [City, State]

Palisade Homes LLC ‘szw
Name of Company (Company) — please print Sighatufe of Applicant
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Utilities & Transportation Commission
621 Woodland Square Loop S.E.
Lacey, Washington 98503

(360) 664-1349 Accounts Receivable

Date: December 21, 2022

Agency No.: 2150

(360) 664-1289 Fax Invoice No.: 71 85 - 1
Federal Tax ID: 91-6001121 I ——————————
To: Nate Rasmussen
Palisade Homes LLC
20810 E 1st Ave
Greenacres, WA, 93016
United States
Reference Docket Number Due Date
A penalty assessment has been issued to you by Commission DG-220896 01/03/2023
order.
Description Contact Name Amount
Payment Due January 3, 2023 Hagen, Joice $1,000.00
nh D
Z 00,00
ale dlags
Balance Due $1,000.00
Please remit payment to: Utilities and Transportation Commission
Attn: Financial Services
PO Box 47250
Olympia WA 98504-7250
Pay your invoice online at payments.utc.wa.gov
*A convenience fee of 2.5% (minimum of $3.95) is charged by Official Payments for processing credit card payments. RECE IVE D
AGENCY USE ONLY JAN 2 7 2023
Receipt ID IS4%2
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STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
621 Woodland Square Loop S.E. e Lacey, Washington 98503
P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e TTY 1-800-833-6384 or 711

January 13, 2023

emailed: 01/13/23
Palisade Homes LLC n8rasmussen@hotmail.com
20810 E 1st Ave, WA
Greenacres, WA 99016

Re: ACH Returned

Nate Rasmussen,

You submitted an on-line payment through the Utilities and Transportation
Commission’s (UTC) website of $200.00 for Invoice 7185 on January 6, 2023. On
January 13, 2023, UTC received notification that the online ACH payment was
returned for no account or unable to locate account.

The attached invoice and corresponding payment must be received by the UTC within
15 days of notice.

If you have questions concerning this payment, please contact Accounts Receivable
at (360) 664-1349.

Thank you,
Michelle Parish

Accounts Receivable
Financial Services, Administrative Services Division

Respect. Professionalism. Integrity. Accountability.



