Service Date: September 29, 2022

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220680

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,000 Investigation #8551

UBI: 603-596-682

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Drew Excavating LLC 17908 NE 209th St Battle Ground WA 98504 Laura@Drewexcavating.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE – see page 4

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Drew Excavating LLC (Drew Excavating or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On March 2, 2022, Drew Excavating was excavating at 2346 Brookside Place, Ridgefield, Washington. While excavating, the Company struck an underground Northwest Natural (NWN) gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by NWN on April 4, 2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

On June 7, 2022, Drew Excavating was excavating at 2407 Brookside Place, Ridgefield, Washington. While excavating, it struck an underground Northwest Natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by NWN on April 4, 2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Commission staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a review of the One-Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified natural gas events on both dates that involved Drew Excavating damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. Before this incident, the Commission issued one warning letter to Drew Excavating for excavation without a valid locate ticket.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$2,000 penalty for two violations of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend a \$1,800 portion of the penalty for one year, and

then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation for a Penalty Assessment as described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend a \$1,800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Drew Excavating management and the field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
 - Drew Excavating must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within
 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the <u>Commission's web portal</u> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 29, 2022.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-220680 Investigation #8551

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$2,000 in payment of the penalty.
[] 2.	Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred. I enclose \$200 in partial payment of the penalty, and I accept the Commission's offer to suspend and ultimately waive the \$1,800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: • Drew Excavating supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment: and • Drew Excavating must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and • Drew Excavating must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.
[] 3.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
OR	 [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision. [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.
[]4.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
I declar	 [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision. [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. e under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, ag information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: _	10/24/2022 Battle Ground , WA [City, State]

DREW EXCAVATING INC.

Laura Drew

Name of Company (Company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.