WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-210733 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$5,000 Investigation # 8397

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

UBI: 602-712-140

Comcast Cable Communications Management 1701 John F. Kennedy Blvd. FL 32 Philadelphia, PA 19103 Phone: (360) 481-1377 <u>Rhonda_Weaver@Cable.comcast.com</u>

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Comcast Cable Communications Management (Comcast or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(4)(a) for failing to provide information to an excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 for an initial violation and not more than \$5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$5,000 penalty against you on the following grounds:

On September 15, 2021, the Safety Committee heard the complaint about cases 20-034 and 21-035 A & B against Comcast and determined that Comcast violated RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) for failing to provide information to an excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties on five (5) occasions. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission impose a \$5,000 penalty.

Violations

- Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties, on March 5, 2021.
- Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties, on March 18, 2021.
- Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties, on April 14, 2021.

- Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties, on May 18, 2021.
- Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties, on June 23, 2021.

Commission staff (Staff) agrees with the Safety Committee's findings of probable violations and agrees with the penalty recommendation. Staff based this decision on the following information and investigation.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing documents, reports, and emails submitted by the Safety Committee. These documents identified that on five different occasions Comcast failed to mark the location of its facilities after locate requests were submitted by the Complainant. During the Safety Committee review, Comcast acknowledged that during its corporate transition it failed to update its maps with the One-Call Center. This error caused a failure to locate on these five occasions.

Staff recommends that the Commission assess a \$5,000 penalty against Comcast, \$1,000 for each of the five (5) violations of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) for failing to provide information to an excavator no later than two business days after receipt of the notice unless otherwise agreed by the parties.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses the following:

- Penalty of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on March 5, 2021.
- Penalty of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on March 18, 2021.
- Penalty of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on April 14, 2021.
- Penalty of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on May 18, 2021.
- Penalty of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a). Failing to provide the excavator with information no later than two business days after receipt of the notice on June 23, 2021.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$5,000 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 15, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-210733, Investigation #8397

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$5,000 in payment of [] 1. the penalties.
- [] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. OR []b)
- [] 3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _____ [Month/Day/Year], at _____ [City, State]

 Name of Respondent (Company) – please print
 Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."