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The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that 

CenturyLink Communications LLC, d/b/a Lumen Technologies Group,1 (CenturyLink or 

Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to 

provide reasonably accurate information about CenturyLink’s underground utilities to an 

excavator. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are 

subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 

for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig 

Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty 

of $5,000 against you on the following grounds: 

On September 15, 2020, the Safety Committee heard case 19-079 against 

CenturyLink and determined the Company violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) by 

failing to provide an excavator with reasonably accurate information by 

marking the location of its underground facilities. The Safety Committee 

recommended the Commission assess a $5,000 penalty against CenturyLink. 

Commission staff (Staff) agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of probable 

violation and the recommended penalty. Staff based this decision on the following 

information and investigation. 

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing emails, one-call ticket 

requests, Damage Incident Reporting Tool reports, and photos submitted by both 

Johansen Construction Company (JCC or Complainant) and the Safety Committee. 

 
1 At the time of the violation the Company was known as CenturyLink Communications LLC. On 

December 1, 2020,  CenturyLink Communications LLC became CenturyLink Communications LLC, d/b/a 

Lumen Technologies Group. 
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These documents showed that while excavating with a valid dig ticket, JCC found 

an underground utility line that had not been located by CenturyLink.  

The Commission has assessed penalties against CenturyLink for violations of 

RCW 19.122.030 in 2014, 2015, 2018, and 2020. Because this is a repeat violation, Staff 

recommends that the Commission assess a $5,000 penalty against CenturyLink for one 

violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide reasonably accurate information 

about its underground utilities to an excavator.   

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $5,000. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty 

through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for 

hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a 

hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a 

written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will 

result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

• Pay the $5,000 amount due. 

• Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 7, 2021. 

 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $5,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

 

 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


