
131 East Grover Street, Lynden, WA 98264

~~ ~ 360.354.3500 ~ pax 360.354.0335 ~ ,;, ~ info@faberconstruction.comr
CONSTRUCTION faberconstruction.com

To: Gregory J Kopta
Washington Utility Transportation Commission

From: Faber Construction

Project: Penalty Assessment: D-143952
Re: D-143952

Dear Mr. Kopta

We have agreed to attend training Item 4 and have completed the training to better educate our staff that physically

works in the field. I am also happy to say Cascade Natural Gas and Faber Construction jointly agreed this route would

be best for all of us. Attached are the certificates for our employees that attended the "DIG SAFE" training.

Best Regards,

1 a~'
niel Rojas

-~ ~~~~
~j ~ ~-~

~,
~

Faber Construction, Division Manager. ~A ~ t ~ °°~ ~` w `rt=
~;~ ~ , :_
~y ~,.

_
t.... ~ _ cx ~~Y

s=~ o
~ r
J



SERVICE DATE

RECEIVED DEB 12 1015 f EB 1 0 2015

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

~,'

~~~~. PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-143952
`~j` PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Construction
313 .Grover Street
ynden, WA 98264

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you

have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCVS 19.122.030(1)(x) by working outside of

the area identified on its locate ticket. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violation of

any provision of the chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not more than one thousand

dollars for an initial violation and not more than five thousand dollars for each subsequent

violation within athree-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State

Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a

penalty against you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds:

On Apri17, 2014, Faber Construction (Faber) submitted a utility locate request

to the National Ticket Management System Washington One Call (One Call).

Faber submitted the request in accordance with RCW 19.122.030(2) prior to

excavation to replace a water line.

Six utility providers, including Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (Cascade), received

notification from One Call with instructions to locate utility services in the area

identified on Dig Ticket 14082615 within two business days. Cascade located the

utility's services; however, according to Faber, Cascade's narking of its underground

facilities were incorrect.

On May 6, 2014, Faber began excavation and damaged an underground gas line

owned by Cascade. According to Faber, Cascade's locate markings were more than

34 inches away from where the underground gas line was located. _.

On May 8, 2014, Faber submitted an emergency utility locate request to One Call r.~ ~ ~-

This locate request was submitted following the May 6, 2014, incident so that ~ -~~ = F x̀'~ z

Cascade could locate all gas lines in the excavation area as soon as_possible. -♦~ ~' w
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143952 PAGE 2

On July 22, 2014, Faber filed a complaint with the Safety Committee. The
complainant alleged that Cascade incorrectly marked its underground facilities
on the Apri17, 2014, utility locate request... _ _ _ _ __ _.

The Safety Committee found that Faber violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) by
working outside of the area identified on locate ticket 14082615. The Safety
Committee recommended that the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for this
violation, with a stipulation that the $1,000 be deferred if Faber agrees to send
the field crew involved in the excavation, including the construction
superintendent, to "Dig Safe" Training within six months of the Commission's
review and confirmation of this decision. If Faber staff either fail to attend the
training, or commit further violations of RCW 19.122.030. within a 12-month
period from the Commission's confirmation date, then the $1,000 will be due
and payable at that time.

Pursuant to RCW 19.122.150(3), the Commission has considered the Safety
Committee's determination and adopts its recommendation. The Commission
assesses a penalty of $1,000 but will suspend that penalty on the conditions that (1)
Faber's field crew involved in the excavation, including the construction
superintendent, attend "Dig Safe" training, provided through the National Utility
Contractor's Association (NUCA), within six months of the date of this Penalty
Assessment; and (2) Faber commits no further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within
the next 12 months. The Commission will waive the penalty in its entirety if Faber
complies with both conditions.

This information the Safe Committee rovided to the Commission if rov~d at a heaxintY P ~ p g
and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment:

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there
is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask
for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request,
the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or
application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law
judge. The administrative law judge will_ consider the evidence and will notify you of his or
her decision.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143952

You must acf within 1S days after receiving this notice to do one- of the following:

PAGE3

• Pay the amount due;
• Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend the penalty on condition

that Faber attend the "Dig Safe" training provided through NUCA and commit no
further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within the next 12 months and that the
Commission waive the penalty if Faber complies with these conditions;

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or

• Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate'your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 10, 2015.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division



PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143952 PAGE 4

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143952

___ __ __ ___ ___

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the

reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above
to an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 4. Attend training. I admit that the violation occurred and accept the Commission's.

fer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the penalty on condition that Faber and attend the

` ig Safe" training provided through NUCA within six months of this penalty assessment,

submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending

the training, and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within the next 12

months.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the

foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: Z ~ / ~ [month/day/year], at ~ ~~-, ~~" city, state]

Name o,~ Respondent (company) --please print afore of Applicant



PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143952

RC W 9A.72.020:

PAGE 5

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is
a class B felony."
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a~,ovW~sNrxcroN ppp

Mike Quinn .
ID# DSC0108-21

'h.~,y~ ~ ' ~ Dig-Safe Cerfified
"`TAON/115NIN~~.

This card indicates that Mike Quinn has completed
Dig-Safe Training and Certification in accordance with One Call
legislation and all State and Federel regulatory safety and health

standards.
.~ .
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