STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S. W., P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, Washingion 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203

October 7, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE: .‘Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. All Ready Moving, LI,C
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-143299

Dear Mr. King:

On September 29, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission)
issued Penalty Assessment TV-143299 against All Ready Moving, I,L.C (All Ready Moving) in
the amount of $200, for two violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570,
which requires household goods carriers to comply with parts of Title 49, Code of Federal

Regulations (CFR), including Part 391 - Qualification of drivers and Part 395 — Hours of service
of drivers as follows:

o $100 for one violation of CFR Part 391.51(b)(2) — Failing to maintain inquiries
into driver’s dl‘i\}ing record in driver’s qualification file. Three company drivers’
files did not contain copies of driver abstracts. This is a critical regulation but
these are first-time violations, so the commission assessed a penalty of $100 for

one violation of this type. Future violations will result in penalties assessed for
each violation,

o $100 for one violation of CFR 395.8(a) — Failing to require driver to make a

record of duty status. Three company drivers drove a total of 47 days without
making a record of duty stafus. This is a critical regulation but these are first-time
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violations, so the commission assessed a penalty of $100 for one violation of this
type. Future violations will result in penalties assessed for each violation,

On October 3, 2014, All Ready Moving filed with the commission its application for mitigation
of penalties (Mitigation Request). Matt Collins, owner of Al] Ready Moving, admitted the
violations but asked that the penalty amount be reduced for the reasons set out in the response.

All Ready Moving operates as a household goods carrier under permit number THG-643 14. On
August 6, 2014, Motor Carrier Safety Tnspector John Foster conducted a compliance review
inspection at the carrier’s terminal. Compliance reviews are an in-depth examination of the
motor carrier's compliance with regulations that the FMCSA has identified as “acute” or
“critical.”! Acute regulations are identified where noncompliance is so severe as to require
immediate corrective actions by a motor carrier regardless of the overall safety posture of the
motor carrier. Violations of critical regulations are generally indicative of breakdowns in a
carrier's management controls, Non-compliance with acute regulations and patterns of non-
compliance with critical regulations are quantitatively linked to inadequate safety management
controls and usually higher than average accident rates2 -

M. Foster found 66 total violations, all of which were first-time violations. The commission’s
Enforcement Policy, however, provides that some commission requirements are so critical to
safe operations that the commission may issue penalties for a first-time violation, even if staff
has not previously provided technical assistance on specific issues.3 Of the 66 violations, 50 were
of critical regulations. The compliance review resulted in an unsatisfactory safety rating for All
Ready Moving. Staff will re-inspect within the next few months to determine if the company has
improved its operating practices. '

As stated in the penalty assessment, the commission could have assessed up to $5,000 in
penalties against All Ready Moving for the violations found in the compliance review. Instead,
based on the specific factors outlined in the penalty assessment, the commission only assessed
$200 in penalties. In its Mitigation Request, All Ready Moving did not provide any information
which supports further mitigation of the penalty:; therefore, staff recommends the request be
denied.

1 Code of Federal Regulations, Appendix B to Part 385—Explanation of safety rating process, copy enclosed.

21d ,
3 Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission — Section V.
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If you have any questions, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Investigator, Transportation
Safety, at 360-664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@ute.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

#t\,gw z;(q,j L@a&g

" David Pratt
Assistant Director, Transportation Safety

Enclosure
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Part 385
SAFETY FITNESS PROCEDURES

Appendix B to Part 385: Explanation of Safety Rating Process

(a) Section 215 of the Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984 (49 U.S.C. 31144) directed the
Secretary of Transportation to establish a procedure to determine the safety fitness of
owners and operators of commercial motor vehicles operating in interstate or foreign
commerce. The Secretary, in turn, delegated this responsibility to the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).

(b) As directed, FMCSA promulgated a safety fitness regulation, entitled “Safety Fitness
Procedures,” which established a procedure to determine the safety fitness of motor
carriers through the assignment of safety ratings and established a “safety fitness
standard” which a motor carrier must meet to obtain a satisfactory safety rating.

(c) Critical regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance relates to
management and/or operational controls. These are indicative of breakdowns in a carrier's
management controls. An example of a critical regulation is §395.3(a)(1), requiring or
permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 11
hours.

(d) The safety rating process developed by FMCSA is used to:

1. Evaluate safety fitness and assign one of three safety ratings (satisfactory, conditional,
or unsatisfactory) to motor carriers operating in interstate commerce. This process
conforms to 49 CFR 385.5, Safety fitness standard, and §385.7, Factors to be considered
in determining a safety rating. '

2. ldentify motor carriers needing improvement in their compliance with the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) and applicable Hazardous Materials Regulations
(HMRs). These are carriers rated unsatisfactory orconditional.

2. Identify motor carriers needing improvement in their compliance with the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) and applicable Hazardous Materials Regulations
(HMRs). These are carriers rated Unsatisfactory or Conditional.

http://www.fmesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385 Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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(e) The hazardous materials safety permit requirements of part 385, subpart E apply to
intrastate motor carriers. Intrastate motor carriers that are subject to the hazardous
materials safety permit requirements in subpart E will be rated using equivalent State
requirements whenever the FMCSRs are referenced in this appendix.

(f) The safety rating will be determined by applying the SFRM equally to all of a company's
motor carrier operations in commerce, including if applicable its operations in Canada

and/or Mexico.
I. Source of Data for Rating Methodology

(a) The FMCSA's rating process is built upon the operational tool known as the CR. This
tool was developed to assist Federal and State safety specialists in gathering pertinent
motor carrier compliance and accident information.

(b) The CR is an in-depth examination of a motor carrier's operations and is used (1) to
rate unrated motor carriers, (2) to conduct a follow-up investigation on motor carriers
rated unsatisfactory or conditional as a result of a previous review, (3) to investigate
complaints, or (4) in response to a request by a motor carrier to reevaluate its safety
rating. Documents such as those contained in driver qualification files, records of duty
status, vehicle maintenance records, and other records are thoroughly examined for
compliance with the FMCSRs and HMRs. Violations are cited on the CR document.
Performance-based information, when available, is utilized to evaluate the carrier's
compliance with the vehicle regulations. Recordable accident information is also collected.

Il. Converting CR Information Into a Safety Rating

(a) The FMCSA gathers information through an in-depth examination of the motor carrier's
compliance with identified “acute” or “critical” regulations of the FMCSRs and HMRs.

(b) Acute regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance is so severe as to
require immediate corrective actions by a motor carrier regardless of the overall safety
posture of the motor carrier. An example of an acute regulation is §383.37(h), allowing,
requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee with more than one Commercial Driver's
License (CDL) to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Noncompliance with §383.37(b) is
usually discovered when the motor carrier's driver qualification file reflects that the motor
carrier had knowledge of a driver with more than one CDL, and still permitted the driver to
operate a commercial motor vehicle. If the motor carrier did not have such knowledge or
could not reasonably be expected to have such knowledge, then a violation would not be
cited.

(c) Critical regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance relates to
management and/or operational controls. These are indicative of breakdowns in a carrier's
management controls. An example of a critical regulation is §395.3(a)(1), requiring or
permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 11
hours. '

(d) The list of the acute and critical regulations which are used in determining safety
ratings is included at the end of this document. .

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385 Appendix%20B%20t0%20...  10/6/2014
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(e) Noncompliance with acute regulations and patterns of non-compliance with critical
regulations are quantitatively linked to inadequate safety management controls and
usually higher than average accident rates. The FMCSA has used noncompliance with
acute regulations and patterns of noncompliance with critical regulations since 1989 to
determine motor carriers' adherence to the Safety fithess standard in §385.5.

(f) The regulatory factors, evaluated on the basis of the adequacy of the carrier's safety
management controls, are: (1) Parts 172 and 173; (2) Parts 387 and 390; (3) Parts 382,
383, and 391; (4) Parts 392 and 395; (5) Parts 393 and 396 when there are less than
three vehicle inspections in the last 12 months to evaluate; and (6) Parts 397, 171, 177
and 180.

(9) For each instance of noncompliance with an acute regulation or each pattern of
noncompliance with a critical regulation during the CR, one point will be assessed. A
pattern is more than one violation. When a number of documents are reviewed, the
number of violations required to meet a pattern is equal to at least 10 percent of those
examined.

(h) However, each pattern of noncompliance with a critical regulation relative to Part 395,
Hours of Service of Drivers, will be assessed two points.

A. Vehicle Factor

(a) When a total of three or more inspections are recorded in the Motor Carrier
Management Information System (MCMIS) during the twelve months prior to the CR or
performed at the time of the review, the Vehicle Factor (Parts 393 and 396) will be
evaluated on the basis of the Out-of-Service (OOS) rates and noncompliance with acute
regulations and/or a pattern of noncompliance with critical regulations. The results of the
review of the OOS rate will affect the Vehicle Factor rating as follows:

1. If a motor carrier has three or more roadside vehicle inspections in the twelve months
prior to the carrier review, or three vehicles inspected at the time of the review, or a
combination of the two totaling three or more, and the vehicle OOS rate is 34 percent or
greater, the initial factor rating will be conditional. The requirements of Part 396,
Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance, will be examined during each review. The results of
the examination could lower the factor rating tounsatisfactory if noncompliance with an
acute regulation or a pattern of noncompliance with a critical regulation is discovered. If
the examination of the Part 396 requirements reveals no such problems with the systems
the motor carrier is required to maintain for compliance, the Vehicle Factor

remains conditional.

2. If a carrier's vehicle OOS rate is less than 34 percent, the initial factor rating will

be satisfactory. If noncompliance with an acute regulation or a pattern of noncompliance
with a critical regulation is discovered during the examination of Part 396 requirements,
the factor rating will be lowered to conditional. If the examination of Part 396 requirements
discovers no such problems with the systems the motor carrier is required to maintain for
compliance, the Vehicle Factor remains satisfactory.

(b) Nearly two million vehicle inspections occur on the roadside each year. This vehicle
inspection information is retained in the MCMIS and is integral to evaluating motor

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385 Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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carriers' ability to successfully maintain their vehicles, thus preventing them from being
placed OOS during roadside inspections. Since many of the roadside inspections are
targeted to visibly defective vehicles and since there are a limited number of inspections
for many motor carriers, the use of that data is limited. Each CR will continue to have the
requirements of Part 396, Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance, reviewed as indicated by
the above explanation.

B. Accident Factor

(a) In addition to the five regulatory rating factors, a sixth factor is included in the process
to address the accident history of the motor carrier. This factor is the recordable accident
rate for the past 12 months. A recordable accident, consistent with the definition for
“accident” in 49 CFR 390.5, means an occurrence involving a commercial motor vehicle
on a highway in motor carrier operations in commerce or within Canada or Mexico (if the
motor carrier also operates in the United States) that results in a fatality; in bodily injury to
a.person who, as a result of the injury, immediately receives medical treatment away from
the scene of the accident; or in one or more motor vehicles incurring disabling damage
that requires the motor vehicle to be transported away from the scene by a tow truck or
other motor vehicle.

(b) Recordable accidents per million miles were computed for each CR performed in
Fiscal Years 1994,1995 and 1996. The national average for all carriers rated was 0.747,
and .839 for carriers operating entirely within the 100 air mile radius.

(c) Experience has shown that urban carriers, those motor carriers operating primarily
within a radius of less than 100 air miles (normally in urban areas) have a higher exposure
to accident situations because of their environment and normally have higher accident
rates.

(d) The recordable accident rate will be used to rate Factor 6, Accident. It will be used only
when a motor carrier incurs two or more recordable accidents occurred within the 12
months prior to the CR. An urban carrier (a carrier operating entirely within a radius of 100
air miles) with a recordable accident rate greater than 1.7 will receive

anunsatisfactory rating for the accident factor. All other carriers with a recordable accident
rate greater than 1.5 will receive an unsatisfactory factor rating. The rates are a result of
roughly doubling the national average accident rate for each type of carrier rated in Fiscal
Years 1994, 1995 and 1996.

(e) The FMCSA will continue to consider preventability when a motor carrier contests a
rating by presenting compelling evidence that the recordable rate is not a fair means of
evaluating its accident factor. Preventability will be determined according to the following
standard: “If a driver, who exercises normal judgment and foresight could have foreseen
the possibility of the accident that in fact occurred, and avoided it by taking steps within
his/her control which would not have risked causing another kind of mishap, the accident
was preventable.” '

C. Factor Ratings

(a) Parts of the FMCSRs and the HMRs having similar characteristics are combined
together into five regulatory areas called “factors.”

http://www.fmcesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/3 85.Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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(b) The following table shows the five regulatory factors, parts of the FMCSRs and HMRs
associated with each factor, and the accident factor. Factor Ratings are determined as

follows:

Factors

Factor 1 General=Parts 387 and 390

Factor 2 Driver=Parts 382, 383 and 391

Factor 3 Operational=Parts 392 and 395

Factor 4 Vehicle=Parts 393 and 396

Factor 5 Haz. Mat.=Parts 397, 171, 177 and 180
Factor 6 Accident Factor=Recordable Rate
“Satisfactory”—if the acute and/or critical=0 points

“Conditional”—if the acute and/or critical=1 point

“Unsatisfactory"—if the acute and/or critical=2 or more points

lll. Safety Rating
A. Rating Table

(a) The ratings for the six factors are then entered into a rating table which establishes the

motor carrier's safety rating.

(b) The FMCSA has devéloped a computerized rating formula for assessing the

information obtained from the CR document and is using that formula in assigning a safety

rating.

Motor Carrier Safety Rating Table

B. Proposed Safety Rating

http://www.fmesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385. Appendix%20B%20t0%20...

Factor ratings Overall
Unsatisfactory Conditional Safety rating
0 2 or fewer Satisfactory

0 more than 2 Conditional

| 1 2 or fewer Conditional

1 more than 2 - Unsatisfactory
2 or more 0 or more Unsatisfactory
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(a) The proposed safety rating will appear on the CR. The following appropriate
information will appear after the last entry on the CR, MCS-151, part B.

“Your proposed safety rating is SATISFACTORY.”
OR

“Your proposed safety rating is CONDITIONAL.” The proposed safety rating will become
the final safety rating 45 days after you receive this notice.

OR

“Your proposed safety rating is UNSATISFACTORY.” The proposed safety rating will
become the final safety rating 45 days after you receive this notice

(b) Proposed safety ratings of conditional or unsatisfactory will list the deficiencies
discovered during the CR for which corrective actions must be taken.

(c) Proposed unsatisfactory safety ratings will indicate that, if the unsatisfactory rating
becomes final, the motor carrier will be subject to the provision of §385.13, which prohibits
motor carriers rated unsatisfactory from transporting hazardous materials requiring
placarding or more than 15 passengers, including the driver.

IV. Assignment of Final Rating/Motor Carrier Notification

When the official rating is determined in Washington, D.C., the FMCSA notifies the motor
carrier in writing of its safety rating as prescribed in §385.11. A

proposed conditional safety rating (which is an improvement of an

existingunsatisfactory rating) becomes effective as soon as the official safety rating from
Washington, D.C. is issued, and the carrier may also avail itself of relief under the -
§385.15, Administrative Review and §385.17, Change to safety rating based on corrective
actions.

V. Motor Carrier Rights to a Change in the Safety Rating

Under §§385.15 and 385.17, motor carriers have the right to petition for a review of their
ratings if there are factual or procedural disputes, and to request another review after
corrective actions have been taken. They are the procedural avenues a motor carrier
which believes its safety rating to be in error may exercise, and the means to request
another review after corrective action has been taken.

VI. Conclusion

(a) The FMCSA believes this “safety fitness rating methodology” is a reasonable approach
for assigning a safety rating which best describes the current safety fitness posture of a
motor carrier as required by the safety fitness regulations (§385.9). This methodology has
the capability to incorporate regulatory changes as they occur.

(b) Improved compliance with the regulations leads to an improved rating, which in turn
increases safety. This increased safety is our regulatory goal.

http://www.fimcsa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/3 85.Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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VII. List of Acute and Critical Regulations.

§382.115(a) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing
program (domestic motor carrier) (acute).

§382.115(b) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing
program (foreign motor carrier) (acute).

§382.201 Using a driver known to have an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater
(acute).

§382.211 Using a driver who has refused to submit to an alcohol or controlled
substances test required under part 382 (acute).

§382.213(b) Using a driver known to have used a controlled substance (acute).

§382.215 Using a driver known to have tested positive for a controlled substance
(acute).

§382.301(a) Using a driver before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-
employment controlled substance test result (critical).

§382.303(a) Failing to conduct post accident testing on driver for alcohol (critical).

§382.303(b) Failing to conduct post accident testing on driver for controlled
substances (critical).

§382.305 Failing to implement a random controlled substances and/or an alcohol
testing program (acute).

§382.305(b)(1) Failing to conduct random alcohol testing at an annual rate of not
less than the applicable annual rate of the average number of driver positions
(critical).

§382.305(b)(2) Failing to conduct random controlled substances testing at an annual
rate of not less than the applicable annual rate of the average number of driver
positions (critical).

§382.309(a) Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty alcohol test with
a result indicating an alcohol concentration of less than 0.02 (acute).

§382.309(b) Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty controlled
substances test with a result indicating a verified negative result for controlled
substances (acute).

§382.503 Allowing a driver to perform safety sensitive function, after engaging in
conduct prohibited by subpart B, without being evaluated by substance abuse
professional, as required by §382.605 (critical).

http://www.fmesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385. Appendix%20B%20t0%20...  10/6/2014
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§382.505(a) Using a driver within 24 hours after being found to have an alcohol
concentration of 0.02 or greater but less than 0.04 (acute).

§382.605(c)(1) Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty alcohol test
with a result indicating an alcohol concentration of less than .02 or with verified
negative test result, after engaging in conduct prohibited by part 382 subpart B
(acute).

§382.605(c)(2)(ii) Failing to subject a driver who has been identified as needing
assistance to at least six unannounced follow-up alcohol and/or controlled substance
tests in the first 12 months following the driver's return to duty (critical).

§383.23(a) Operating a commercial motor vehicle without a valid commercial driver's
license (critical). -

§383.37(a) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee who
does not have a current CLP or CDL, who does not have a GLP or CDL with the
proper class or endorsements, or who operates a CMV in violation of any restriction
on the CLP or CDL to operate a CMV (acute).

§383.37(b) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee
with a commercial driver's license which is suspended, revoked, or canceled by a
state or who is disqualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle (acute).

§383.37(c) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee
with more than one commercial driver's license to operate a commercial motor vehicle
(acute).

§383.51(a) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing a driver to drive
who is disqualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle (acute).

§387.7(a) Operating a motor vehicle without having in effect the required minimum
levels of financial responsibility coverage (acute).

§387.7(d) Failing to maintain at principal place of business required proof of financial
responsibility (critical).

§387.31(a) Operating a passenger carrying vehicle without having in effect the
required minimum levels of financial responsibility (acute).

§387.31(d) Failing to maintain at principal place of business required proof of
financial responsibility for passenger carrying vehicles (critical).

§390.15(b)(2) Failing to maintain copies of all accident reports required by State or
other governmental entities or insurers (critical).

§390.35 Making, or causing to make fraudulent or intentionally false statements or
records and/or reproducing fraudulent records (acute).

§391.11(b)(4) Using a physically unqualified driver (acute).

http://www.tfmcesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385 Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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§391.15(a) Using a disqualified driver (acute).
§391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified (critical).

§391.45(b)(1) Using a driver not medically examined and certified during the
preceding 24 months (critical).

§391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed
(critical).

§391.51(b)(2) Failing to maintain inquiries into driver's driving record in driver's
qualification file (critical).

§391.51(b)(7) Failing to maintain medical examiner's certificate in driver's
qualification file (critical).

§392.2 Operating a motor vehicle not in accordance with the laws, ordinances, and
regulations of the jurisdiction in which it is being operated (critical).

§392.4(b) Requiring or pérmitting a driver to drive while under the influence of, or in
possession of, a narcotic drug, amphetamine, or any other substance capable of
rendering the driver incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle (acute).

§392.5(b)(1) Requiring or permitting a driver to drive a motor vehicle while under the
influence of, or in possession of, an intoxicating beverage (acute).

§392.5(b)(2) Requiring or permitting a driver who shows evidence of having
consumed an intoxicating beverage within 4 hours to operate a motor vehicle (acute).

§392.6 Scheduling a run which would necessitate the vehicle being operated at
speeds in excess of those prescribed (critical).

§392.9(a)(1) Requiring or permitting a driver to drive without the vehicle's cargo
being properly distributed and adequately secured (critical).

§395.1(h)(1)(i) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive more than 15 hours (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(1)(ii) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty 20 hours (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(1)(iii) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours in 7 consecutive days
(Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(1)(iv) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty more than 80 hours in 8 consecutive days
(Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(2)(i) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor
vehicle driver to drive more than 15 hours (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

http://www.fmesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385. Appendix%20B%20t0%20... 10/6/2014
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§395.1(h)(2)(ii) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor
vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 20 hours (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(2)(iii) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor
vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours in 7 consecutive
days (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(h)(2)(iv) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor
vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 80 hours in 8 consecutive
days (Driving in Alaska) (critical).

§395.1(0) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver
to drive after having been on duty 16 consecutive hours (critical).

§395.3(a)(1) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying'commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive without taking an off-duty period of at least 10 consecutive hours prior
to driving (critical).

§395.3(a)(2) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after the end of the 14th hour after coming on duty (critical).

§395.3(a)(3)(i) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive more than 11 hours (critical).

§395.3(a)(3)(ii) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive if more than 8 hours have passed since the end of the driver's last off-
duty or sleeper-berth period of at least 30 minutes (critical).

§395.3(b)(1) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having-been on duty more than 60 hours in 7 consecutive days
(critical).

§395.3(b)(2) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours in 8 consecutive days
(critical).

§395.5(a)(1) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive more than 10 hours (critical).

§395.5(a)(2) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty 15 hours (critical).

§395.5(b)(1) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty more than 60 hours in 7 consecutive days
(critical).

§395.5(b)(2) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle
driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours in 8 consecutive days
(critical).

http://www.fmesa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/385. Appendix%20B%20t0%20...  10/6/2014




Regulations Section Page 11 of 14

§395.8(a) Failing to require driver to make a record of duty status (critical).
§395.8(e) False reports of records of duty status (critical).

§395.8(i) Failing to require driver to forward within 13 days of completion, the
original of the record of duty status (critical).

§395.8(k)(1) | Failing to preserve driver's record of duty status for 6 months (critical).

§395.8(k)(1) Failing to preserve driver's records of duty status supporting documents
for 6 months (critical).

§396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance
(critical).

§396.9(c)(2) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle declared “out-of
-service” before repairs were made (acute).

§396.11(a) Failing to require driver to prepare driver vehicle inspection report
(critical).

§396.11(c) Failing to correct Out-of-Service defects listed by driver in a driver vehicle
inspection report before the vehicle is operated again (acute).

§396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected (critical).

§396.17(g) Failing to promptly repair parts and accessories not meeting minimum
periodic inspection standards (acute).

§397.5(a) Failing to ensure a motor vehicle containing Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3
(explosive) material is attended at all times by its driver or a qualified representative
(acute).

§397.7(a)(1) Parking a motor vehicle containing Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials
within 5 feet of traveled portion of highway or street (critical).

§397.7(b) Parking a motor vehicle containing hazardous material(s) other than
Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials within 5 feet of traveled portion of highway or street
(critical).

§397.13(a) Permitting a person to smoke or carry a lighted cigarette, cigar or pipe
within 25 feet of a motor vehicle containing Class 1 materials, Class 5 materials, or
flammable materials classified as Division 2.1, Class 3, Divisions 4.1 and 4.2 (critical).

§397.19(a) Failing to furnish driver of motor vehicle transporting Division 1.1, 1.2, or
1.3 (explosive) materials with a copy of the rules of part 397 and/or emergency
response instructions (critical).

§397.67(d) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle containing
explosives in Class 1, Divisions 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 that is not accompanied by a written
route plan (critical).
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§397.101(d) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle containing
highway route-controlled quantity, as defined in §173.403, of radioactive materials
that is not accompanied by a written route plan.

§171.15 Carrier failing to give immediate telephone notice of an incident involving
hazardous materials (critical).

§171.16 Carrier failing to make a written report of an incident involving hazardous
materials (critical).

§172.313(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing a
poisonous-by-inhalation material that is not marked with the words “Inhalation
Hazard” (acute).

§172.704(a)(4) Failing to provide security awareness training (critical).
§172.704(a)(5) Failing to provide in-depth security awareness training (critical).
§172.800(b) Transporting HM without a security plan (acute).

§172.800(b) Transporting HM without a security plan that conforms to Subpart |
requirements (acute).

§172.800(b) Failure to adhere to a required security plan (acute).

§172.802(b) Failure to make copies of security plan available to hazmat employees
(critical).

§173.24(b)(1) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package that has an
identifiable release of a hazardous material to the environment (acute).

§173.421(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a Class 7 (radioactive)
material described, marked, and packaged as a limited quantity when the radiation
level on the surface of the package exceeds 0.005mSv/hour (0.5 mrem/hour) (acute).

§173.431(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting in a Type A packaging a
greater quantity of Class 7 (radioactive) material than authorized (acute).

§173.431(b) Accepting for transportation or transporting in a Type B packaging a
greater quantity of Class 7 (radioactive) material than authorized (acute).

§173.441(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing Class
7 (radioactive) material with external radiation exceeding allowable limits (acute).

§173.442(b) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing Class
7 (radioactive) material when the temperature of the accessible external surface of
the loaded package exceeds 50 °C (122 °F) in other than an exclusive use shipment,
or 85 °C (185 °F) in an exclusive use shipment (acute).
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§173.443(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing Class
7 (radioactive) material with removable contamination on the external surfaces of the
package in excess of permissible limits (acute).

§177.800(c) Failing to instruct a category of employees in hazardous materials
regulations (critical).

§177.801 Accepting for transportation or transporting a forbidden material (acute).

§177.835(a) Loading or unloading a Class 1 (explosive) material with the engine
running (acute).

§177.835(c) Accepting for transportation or transporting Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3
(explosive) materials in a motor vehicle or combination of vehicles that is not
permitted (acute).

§177.835(j) Transferring Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explosive) materials between
containers or motor vehicles when not permitted (acute).

§177.817(a) Transporting a shipment of hazardous materials not accompanied by a
properly prepared shipping paper (critical).

§177.817(e) Failing to maintain proper accessibility of shipping papers (critical).

§177.823(a) Moving a transport vehiclé containing hazardous material that is not
properly marked or placarded (critical).

§177.841(e) Transporting a package bearing a poison label in the same transport
vehicle with material marked or known to be foodstuff, feed, or any edible material

intended for consumption by humans or animals unless an exception in §177.841(e)
(i) or (ii) is met (acute).

§180.407(a) Transporting a shipment of hazardous material in cargo tank that has
not been inspected or retested in accordance with §180.407 (critical).

§180.407(c) Failing to periodically test and inspect a cargo tank (critical).

§180.415 Failing to mark a cargo tank which passed an inspection or test required
by §180.407 (critical).

§180.417(a)(1) Failing to retain cargo tank manufacturer's data report certificate and
related papers, as required (critical).

§180.417(a)(2) Failing to retain copies of cargo tank manufacturer's certificate and
related papers (or alternative report) as required (critical).

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
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