STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

June 13, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Kitsap Tours Limited
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141065
Dear Mr. King:

On May 27, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TE-141065 against Kitsap Tours Limited for 10 violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion carriers to
furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.?

On June 4, 2014, Kitsap Tours Limited wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, Kitsap Tours Limited does not dispute that the
violation occurred. The company states, “At first I wasn’t sure the forms applied to me and then
when | went to fill them out | was overwhelmed with the complexity. | eventually called your
office and got clarification that | only needed to complete part of the form and | was advised that
| had paid in December. | took this to mean all was 0.k. My misunderstanding. It will not
happen again. We are very small and have not yet taken a salary from out little business. Please
consider a one time reduction in the penalty or forgive us this time.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated charter and excursion companies. The instructions for annual report completion page
of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report
form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement
action.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Kitsap Tours Limited’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014
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On May 22, 2014, Kitsap Tours Limited filed the 2013 annual report and timely paid the
required regulatory fees on December 31, 2013. The company has been active since April 5,
2010. No previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record. The UTC also
recently adopted new rules requiring the annual report to be filed by May 1 while the regulatory
fees remained due on December 31. Despite the commission communication regarding these
filing changes to all regulated charter and excursion companies, commission staff supports the
company’s request for mitigation. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Kitsap Tours Limited’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMNMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOER VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141065
PENALTY AMOUNT: §1.000

Kitsap Tours Linuted
PO Box 766
Suquanush, WA 98392

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission {Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and
excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an anmual report by May 1, 2014

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04 080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission mles. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’'s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond Mav 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 anmual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Kitsap Tours Limited has not filed its 2013 annual report.
May 15 is 10 business days from Mav 1. resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material 1ssues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will resulf in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Kitsap Tours Limited’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014
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(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A recuest for

mifigation must include a writien statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure fo
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04 405.

If vou properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting vour dispute of the violation or application for
mifigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢  Pay the amount due.
» FRequest a hearing fo contest the occurrence of the violations.
* FRequest mitigation fo confest the amount of the penalty.

Please mndicate your selection on the enclosed form and send if to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98304-7250, within
FITTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 davys, the Comumission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Artornev General for collection. which may file suit in state court to collect the penaltv. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel vour certificate to
operate as a charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olvmpia, Washington, and effective Mayv 27, 2014

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Kitsap Tours Limited’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141065

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after vou receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand BRCW 94 72 020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to festify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[ 11 Payvment of penalty. I admut that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted mv pavment of § online at www.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestforahearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. [ admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons sef out below:

[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OF [ ]b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachments, 1s true and correct.

Dated: [month/davyivear], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime. and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material 1s not a
defense to a prosecution under this section (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony ™

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Kitsap Tours Limited’s Mitigation Request received on June 4, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141065 |
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