STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 « www.utc.wa.gov

June 6, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. ALCLS, LLC

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141049
Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TE-141049 against ALCLS, LLC for 10 violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion catriers to
furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On May 30, 2014, ALCLS, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, ALCLS, LLC does not dispute that the
violation occurred. The company states, “Please do not charge me the penalty. I did not receive
this report form in the mail. Tonly have one hummer limo — I can’t afford $1,000. It will put me
out of business”.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated charter and excursion companies. The instructions for annual report completion page
of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report
form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement
action.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014
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On May 30, 2014, ALCLS, LLC filed the 2013 annual report and timely paid the required
regulatory fees on December 16, 2013. The company permit was issued on June 28, 2004. No
previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record. The UTC also recently
adopted new rules requiring the annual report to be filed by May 1 while the regulatory fees
remained due on December 31. Despite the commission communication regarding these filing
changes to all regulated charter and excursion companies, commission staff supports the
company’s request for mitigation. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

’ \/J ancia /{/ﬁjgf&
Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

!See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014




ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141049

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which slates that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the =3
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under =
oath, the following stalements.
|

[]1L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: =
[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the peralty :_:’.

. n

[ 1Submitted my payment of $ ___online al www.utc.wa.gov, =

My confirmation number is

[ 12. Requestfora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a.décision by an administrative law judge:

[

S

3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the pe alty should The
he reduced for the reasons set out below:

Doyt
i gl g e e
s i Lt vno— I ¥
- I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to '7' /;LM
an administrative law judge fora decision
) 1ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above 5
celare wrdder penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, l
%‘ includtfig information [ have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: M/ﬂ/!/l Z() "’j/monthfdaya’)ear], at iﬁﬂﬁ WAL M/ 14 [city, state]
ALL LS nLe |
ature of Applicant

Name of Respondent (cf)mpany) please print

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first depree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clemenit of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this seetion, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

ISee attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141049

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A 72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1] & Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]1Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ 1 Submitted my payment of $ online at wuw . ufc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is .

[ 12. Requestforahearing. Ibelieve that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
= ~ p
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/vear], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilfy of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141049 PAGE2

(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented af a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW §1.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
= Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission. Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after vou receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may alse initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel your certificate to
operate as a charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 23, 2014.

GREGORY I. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

'See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMNMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141049
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

ALCIS. 11.C
1918 S. Markwell Ct.
Spokane, WA 99223

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and
excursion carriess to file their annual reports. You did not file an annual report by May 1. 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s confinuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation. and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
after that date.

As aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the
following basis:

On Febmary 28, 2014, the Comumission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, ALCLS, LLC has not filed its 2013 annual report. May 15
is 10 business days from May 1. resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure fo provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty. you may ask for mitigation

'See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



3l Report for Charter

Subject: Annual Report for Charter
From: "Andrews, Amy (UTC)" <aandrews@utc.wa.gov>

Date: 5/27/2014 6:23 PM RE

To: "rpsie@alittleclass.cam" <rosie@alittleclass.com> cEIVED

CC: "Andrews, Amy (UTC)" <aandrews@utc.wa.gov> ml’ 30 2 014

Good Afternoon, HMS,L,{ ur & ™ 0
IR0,

The annual report for the Charter Authority has been attached. You will need to complete the foM)wing:

Caover page
Certification page
Schedule 1 (where noted for Charter Authority - skip the areas marked Auto Transportation)

Schedule 2
Skip Schedule 3,4 and &5

If you are still reporting only 1 vehicle, no further regulatory fees are due at this time as you paid in
December 2013.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about the report.
Amy Andrewy ) /%m

Fiscal Analyst

Utilities & Transportation Commission :;R '

PO Box 47250 .

Olympia, WA 98504-7250 / / ‘P D N
360.664.1157 ; . M

360.664,1289 '
IWAVIY LI WaL gov W ML ..M .

Aot ] As_ﬁ_:-_-__m;/m

230_232 Auto Tranportation_Charter Annual Report Form 2013.pdf 412 KB

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of ALCLS’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014






