

# STATE OF WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov

June 16, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary Utilities and Transportation Commission 1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Agyen, Linda T.

Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141046

Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a \$1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TE-141046 against Linda T. Agyen for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. <sup>1</sup>

On June 6, 2014, Linda Agyen wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).<sup>2</sup> In its Mitigation Request, Linda Agyen does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, "...I was very unclear about which forms where due from my company at the end of the year, and thought all forms were filled out when my annual fees were paid. In the past years before the fees the annual reports were done at the same time which led me to believe that thinks were still the same and I had fulfilled the requirement for the year by mistake."

It is the company's responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated charter and excursion companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On June 6, 2014, Agyen, Linda T. filed the 2013 annual report and timely paid the required regulatory fees on December 26, 2013. The company has been active since October 29, 2012.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

UTC Annual Reports June 16, 2014 Page 2

No previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record. The UTC also recently adopted new rules requiring the annual report to be filed by May 1 while the regulatory fees remained due on December 31. Despite the commission communication regarding these filing changes to all regulated charter and excursion companies, commission staff supports the company's request for mitigation. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of \$200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or <a href="mailto:aandrews@utc.wa.gov">aandrews@utc.wa.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director Administrative Services

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

### ATTACHMENT A

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141046 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Agyen, Linda T. 1401 NE Merman Dr. #905 Pullman, WA 99163

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an annual report by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Linda T. Agyen has not filed its 2013 annual report. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel your certificate to operate as a charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 23, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Administrative Law Judge

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141046

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:				
	[ ]Enc	losed \$	in payment of t	he penalty	
	[ ] Submitted my payment of \$ online at www.utc.wa.gov.  My confirmation number is				
[ ] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons, for a decision by an administrative law judge:				
[ ] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:				
OR		an administrativ	ing to present evidence ve law judge for a deci mission decision based	sion	
		enalty of perjury	under the laws of the S ented on any attachmen		
Dated: _		[mc	onth/day/year], at		[city, state]
Name of	f Respond	lent (company) -	- please print	Signature of App	licant
"Perjury proceeds required element	ng he ma or author of this cri	st degree. (1) A p kes a materially rized by law. (2) ime, and the acto	person is guilty of perj false statement which Knowledge of the mat or's mistaken belief tha s section. (3) Perjury in	he knows to be false teriality of the statem this statement was n	under an oath ent is not an ot material is not a

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

### ATTACHMENT B

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141046

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements. [ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: [ ] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty [ ] Submitted my payment of \$\_\_\_\_\_ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is \_\_\_\_\_\_. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons. for a decision by an administrative law judge: [X] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below: a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. [month/day/year], at Pullwan Name of Respondent (company) - please print RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing in response to a letter I received concerning a violations notice sent to my business. I am asking the commission to please forgive the penalty assessed against my company due to some mitigating circumstances. First, I was very unclear about which forms where due from my company at the end of the year, and thought all forms were filled out when my annual fees were paid. In the past years before the fees the annual reports were done at the same time which led me to believe that things were still the same and I had fulfilled the requirement for the year by mistake. I did not know the forms have been separated and I had to fill the annual report later. Please I am asking the commission to forgive my misunderstanding of the deadlines and in affect forgive the fines associated to the offense. Secondly, after receiving the notice I have immediately filed the annual report. I am begging the commission to consider my plea and retract the penalty because I do not make even \$1000.00 in a month and cannot pay the penalty. Thank you in advance for your help and consideration.

Sincerely,

Linda Agyen

Linda Agyen, Owner Reliance Transport 1165 South Grand Ave. #112 Pullman WA 99163 (509)255-3131

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Linda Agyen's Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014