STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o www.utc.wa.gov

June 6, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. A Blackstone Limousine, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141043
Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TE-141043 against A Blackstone Limousine, Inc. for 10 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and excursion
carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On May 30, 2014, A Blackstone Limousine, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request).> In its Mitigation Request, A Blackstone Limousine, Inc. does
not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “The first notice I received of this
notification was your letter dated May 23. I received no other notification”.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated charter and excursion companies. The instructions for annual report completion page
of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report
form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement
action.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014
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On May 30, 2014, A Blackstone Limousine, Inc. filed the 2013 annual report and timely paid the
required regulatory fees on December 9, 2013. The company permit was issued on April 8,
2010. No previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record. The UTC also
recently adopted new rules requiring the annual report to be filed by May 1 while the regulatory
fees remained due on December 31. Despite the commission communication regarding these
filing changes to all regulated charter and excursion companies, commission staff supports the
company’s request for mitigation. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Xjfmcf/fa /ééM

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

ISee attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
?See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141043
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

A Blackstone Limousine
15202 149th Ave SE
Renton. WA 98058

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) recerds, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and
excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an annual report by May 1. 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 autherizes the Commission to assess penalties of
£100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continnance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 asa
continuing violation. and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
afier that date.

As aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against vou in the amouat of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports by May 1. 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, A Blackstone Limousine has not filed its 2013 annual report.
May 15 is 10 business days from May 1. resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include 2 written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Fatlure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty. you may ask for mitigation

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014
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(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

» Pay the amount due.
Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission. Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel your certificate to
operate as a charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia. Washington. and effective May 23, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

ISee attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23,2014
2See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141043

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18. am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath. the following statements.

[ 11 Pavment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]1Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty
[ 1 Submitted my payment of § online at Wvww Uic Wa gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestfor ahearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons.
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ]a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]11® IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
1 declare vnder penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information I have presented on any attachments, 1s true and correct.

Dated: [month/dayiyear]. at [city. state]
Name of Respondent {company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 94 72.020:

“Pesjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an ocath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime. and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



ATTACHMENT B
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 {printed below),.which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred. 1 have:

. [ ]Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ 1Submitted my payment of $ . ] online at www.utc. wa gov.
My confirmation number is _ .

[ 12. Requestfora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
' occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

Application for mitigation. ] admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below: -ﬂ\b £ (a_-b‘f' Mefres 7= Re cue v-ec:/
?‘{\ti-&r ﬂ)ﬁ‘.f? {fu‘f’m/“)ﬂﬁ }GWZ.- ep O(aljﬁpf ﬁﬁ"’)’ 3>,
e cpeved No OFtar_ pg# 6 calrord
[ 1a) Iaskfora hearingto present evidence on the information I pro\'ldc above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ 1b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information 1 provide
above: .
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: S‘: /25/ Vs [month/day/year], at &«]‘M /P [city, state]

Iyl Lehrmin ZAM- -
' N;ﬁw of Respondent (company) — please print 3

.

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

!See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
*See attachment B for a copy of A Blackstone Limousine’s Mitigation Request received on May 30, 2014



