

#### STATE OF WASHINGTON

## UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov

June 13, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary Utilities and Transportation Commission1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SWP.O. Box 47250Olympia, WA 98504-7250

## RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Stillaguamish Senior Center

Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TN-141041

Dear Mr. King:

On May 22, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a \$300 Penalty Assessment in Docket TN-141041 against Stillaguamish Senior Center for 3 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.<sup>1</sup>

On June 3, 2014, Stillaguamish Senior Center wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).<sup>2</sup> In its Mitigation Request, Stillaguamish Senior Center does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company provided a statement outlining significant medical issues which required the staff member responsible for completing report to be the primary caretaker. The company states, "I returned on May 5, 2014 and it was done and submitted by May 6, 2014. I appreciate your consideration of my request for reduction in penalties."

It is the company's responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014

UTC Annual Reports June 13, 2014 Page 2

On May 6, 2014, Stillaguamish Senior Center filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory fees. The company has been active since May 11, 2009. No previous violations of WAC 480-30-080 are on commission record. Staff supports the company's request for mitigation. Staff recommends the assessed penalty be waived due to the significant extenuating circumstances and history of past filing compliance.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or <u>aandrews@utc.wa.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director Administrative Services

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014

### ATTACHMENT A

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

#### NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-141041 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$300

Stillaguamish Senior Center 18308 Smokey Point Blvd Arlington, WA 98223

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-080 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$300 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

On May 6, 2014, Stillaguamish Senior Center filed its 2013 annual report and paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 6 is 3 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$300.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141041

#### PAGE 2

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- · Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- · Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15)** days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-31-052 to revoke your authority to provide nonprofit transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Administrative Law Judge

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141041

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements,

[]1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of \$\_\_\_\_\_\_ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is

- [ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- [ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
  - OR [ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: \_\_\_\_\_ [month/day/year], at \_\_\_\_\_ [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014

#### ATTACHMENT B

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141041

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty

|     |                            |           |            | 3:24  |
|-----|----------------------------|-----------|------------|-------|
| f 1 | Submitted my payment of \$ | online at | www.utc.wa | .gov. |
|     | confirmation number is     |           |            |       |

 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:

3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision

OR (X b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

[month/day/year], at Dated: [city, state] Signature of Applicant Name of Respondent (company) – please print

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014



# Stillaguamish Senior Center

18308 Smokey Point Blvd Arlington, WA 98223

> ан 8:

TEL.: (360) 653-4551 FAX.: (360) 659-1964

State of Washington Washington Utilities& Transportation Commission 1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W. PO Box 47250 Olympic, WA 98504-7250

Dear Gregory J. Kopta,

I am submitting and application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below.

My name is Jo Olson, Executive Director of the Stillaguamish Senior Center and I am the staff person responsible for completing the form and another staff person was providing the statistics for mileage. Their responsibility was to have the information to me by April 15, 2014 so that I would be able to prepare, complete and submit the form before it was due May1,2014.

April 14, 2014 my husband collapsed at home due to a heart attack he was taken to the hospital and diagnosed with severe heart problems and double pneumonia. He spent 15 days in the hospital 7 of which he was in the critical care/intensive care unit. The 28<sup>th</sup> of April he had a defibrillator implant and was released the 29<sup>th</sup> of April. The rest of the week I was home with him. I spent most of my time between the hospital and home as I have an 89 year old mother that lives with us. I am not asking for sympathy just letting you know what happened that I was unable to complete and submit by the due date. I returned on May 5, 2014 and it was done and submitted by May 6, 2014.

I appreciate your consideration of my request for reduction in penalties.

Thank you,

Sincerely

Jo Olson Executive Director Stillaguamish Senior Center

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 22, 2014

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See attachment B for a copy of Stillaguamish Senior Center's Mitigation Request received on June 3, 2014