

STATE OF WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov

June 13, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary Utilities and Transportation Commission 1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Council on Aging & Human Services

Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TN-141039

Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a \$1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TN-141039 against Council on Aging & Human Services for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.¹

On June 2, 2014, Council on Aging & Human Services wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).² In its Mitigation Request, Council on Aging & Human Services does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, "Due to an internal office errors, the report was not routed to the appropriate person at our agency and, therefore, never received the attention required for its timely completion and submission. As soon as I was informed of our tardiness to report/pay, I immediately completed the report, paid the regulatory fees, and am now asking forgiveness of the \$1000 penalty assessment". The request continues "You can understand the financial impact that such an amount would have on our small, non-profit agency."

It is the company's responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

UTC Annual Reports June 13, 2014 Page 2

complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 28, 2014, Council on Aging & Human Services filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory fees. The company has been active since June 12, 2007. No previous violations of WAC 480-30-080 are on commission record. Staff supports the company's request for mitigation. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of \$100 as this is Council on Aging's first late filing.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director Administrative Services

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-141039 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Council on Aging & Human Services Box 107 Colfax. WA 99111

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-080 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Council on Aging & Human Services has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, The Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-31-052 to revoke your authority to provide nonprofit transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Administrative Law Judge

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141039

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

Payment of penalty. Ladmit that the violations occurred. I have:

Γ 1 1.

	[] Enc	losed \$	in payment of	f the penalty	
	[] Sub My conf	mitted my payme firmation number	ent of \$	online at ww	vw.utc.wa.gov.
[] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:				
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty she be reduced for the reasons set out below:				
OR		an administrativ	e law judge for a de	ce on the information I p cision ed solely on the informa	
				State of Washington that ents, is true and correct.	at the foregoing,
Dated: _		[mo	nth/day/year], at		[city, state]
Name of	f Respond	lent (company) –	please print	Signature of Applic	cant
"Perjury proceed	ing he ma	rst degree. (1) A pakes a materially i	false statement which	rjury in the first degree i h he knows to be false ur ateriality of the statemen	nder an oath

element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

ATTACHMENT B

RECEIVED

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

UUN U2 2014

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141039

WASH. UT. & TP. COMM

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:					
	[] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty					
	[] Submitted my payment of \$ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is					
[]2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:					
[X] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:					
OR	[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision [X] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.					
	e under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, g information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.					
	GH. VANTINE [month/day/year], at ColfAX, WA [city, state] GRESpondent (company) – please print Signature of Applicant					
RCW 9/ "Perjury proceedi	A.72.020: in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any officialing he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an					

element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014



Transportation Program of the Council on Aging & Human Services

In Washington: (800) 873-9996

Serving Washington and Idaho P.O. Box 107 • S. 210 Main St. • Colfax, WA 99111 (509) 397-2935 • FAX (509) 397-9229

In Idaho: (800) 967-2899

5/29/14

WUTC P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Dear Sirs:

This is an appeal letter in response to the Penalty Assessment: TN-141039 in the amount of \$1000 for failure to file the annual report and pay regulatory fees for the Council on Aging & Human Services, a non-profit special needs transportation provider with main offices in Colfax, WA. Due to internal office errors, the report was not routed to the appropriate person at our agency and, therefore, never received the attention required for its timely completion and submission. As soon as I was informed of our tardiness to report/pay, I immediately completed the report, paid the regulatory fees, and am now asking forgiveness of the \$1000 penalty assessment. We have addressed this issue, internally, and assure you that this mistake will not occur, again. Our apologies for the extra time and attention we caused you to expend in resolving this matter.

Your acceptance of our report and fees (sent electronically on 5/27/14) and reduction or elimination of the penalty assessment will be appreciated. You can understand the financial impact that such an amount would have on our small, non-profit agency. If any additional information is necessary, please call me at (509) 397-2935 or email at coast@qwestoffice.net.

Sincerely,

Craig H. VanTine

Director

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Council on Aging's Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014