STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

June 25, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Rocket Enterprises, LLC

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141076 and
TC-141037

Dear Mr. King:

On May 22, 2014 and May 27, 2014 the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a
$1,000 Penalty Assessment in Dockets TC-141037 and TE-141067 respectively against Rocket
Enterprises, LLC for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071,
which requires both auto transportation and charter and excursion carriers to furnish annual
reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On June 11, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, Rocket Enterprises, LLC does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “Although it does not excuse the
tardiness of the report, we ask that you take into account that Rocket moved our office location
the weekend prior to this report being due...The report work became buried within the move and
was thought to have been completed and paid.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated auto transportation and charter and excursion companies. The instructions for annual
report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must
complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1,
2014, to avoid enforcement action.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises’ Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014
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On June 10, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required
regulatory fees. Late payment fees remain outstanding for the auto transportation authority. The
charter and excursion regulatory fees were timely paid on December 27, 2013. No previous
violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record.

Commission staff supports the company’s request for mitigation as this is the first delinquent
filing. As this is the first year for a combined authority report, staff recommends a reduced
penalty assessment of $100 per operating authority for a total penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises’ Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-141037
PENALTY AMOUNT: 5§1.000

Rocket Enterprises, LLC
PO Box 3681
Sequim, WA 98382

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires auto
transportation companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each vear by May 1.
You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) §1.04 080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation. every day's confinuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 asa
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay ifs regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Comnussion mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all auto transportation companies registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form mstructed these
companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014, The
instructions page also stated that fatlure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file vour annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

Asof May 15, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC, has not filed its 2013 anmual report
or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 1s 10 business days from May 1, resulting
in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing nmst include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-141037 PAGE2

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will resulf in denial of the request. See RCWE1.04.405.

If vou properly present vour request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting yvour dispute of the violation or application for
mutigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

* Pay the amount due.
» Request a heaning to contest the occurrence of the vielations.
+ ERequest mitigation to contest the amount of the penalfty.

Please indicate yvour selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47230, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FITTEEN (15) days after vou receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission mav also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to revoke vour authority to
provide auto transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olvmpia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-141037

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send if fo the Commission
within 15 days after vou receive the penalfy assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A 72.020 (printed below). which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
mafters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Pavment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of § online at Www.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestfor a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a heaning based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ 10b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/vear], at [ctty, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A . 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows fo be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement 15 not an
element of this crime. and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury i the first degree 15 a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
|
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENATTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141076
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Rocket Enterprises, LLC
PO Box 3681
Sequim. WA 98382

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and
excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an annual report by May 1. 2014

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8§1.04.080 avthorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
£100 for violations of Commission mules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violafion, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 bevond Mav 1 asa
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
Washington. The instmuctions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports by May 1. 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC has not filed its 2013 annual report.
May 15 is 10 business days from May 1. resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If vou believe the violation did not occur, vou may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material 1ssues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
viclation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141076 PAGE2

(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A recuest for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If vou properly present vour request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting vour dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice fo do one of the following:

* Paythe amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) davs after you receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which mavy file suif in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel vour certificate to
operate as a charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 27, 2014,

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMNMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141076

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after vou receive the penalty assessment. Use addifional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 94 72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath 15 a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[ 1L Pavment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]1Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of § online at www ufc. wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestfor a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons [ describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons,
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OF. [ ]1b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/vear]. at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCOW 04 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the stafement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that hus statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecufion under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.™

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-141037

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after vou receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | herchy make, undeg
oath, the following statements. =

[ 11. Payment of penalty. 1 admit that the violations occurred. T have:

.. .
1otk

[ 1Enclosed % in payment of the penalty

f

[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www.ute. wa.go¥

My confirmation number is . =

[ 12. Requestfor a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons | describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

D]’\_"L Application for mitigation. [ admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ]a [ask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [Dzl\b} I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above,
[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: EQ"I’Q'I '_'f _ [month/day/year], at
l.._...--""'

K / 0rz
Name of Respondent (company) — please print

Signnnlfe_ Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
tequired or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



Rocket Transportation
PO BOX 3681
Sequim, WA 98382

Rocket

Tror sportaticn

Gregory J Kopta, Administrative Law Judge r_j
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission =
PO BOX 47250 —
Olympia, WA 98504-7250 .
June 10, 2014 2

w

Honorable Judge Kopta;

Rocket Transportation is writing this appeal to eliminate or reduce penalty assessments:
TC-141037 and TE-141076.

Rocket fully admits that the 2013 Annual Report Forms were filed late and in violation of
WAC 480-30-071. We respectfully request that you please take into consideration that
we have a history of filing our annual reports on time.

Although it does not excuse the tardiness of the report, we ask that you take into
account that Rocket moved our office location the weekend prior to this report being
due, April 26 & 27. We had an appointment with our bookkeeper an April 28 to
complete the balance sheet portion of the report which was the last part needed prior to
filing. The report work became buried within the move and was thought to have been
completed and paid.

We are distressed and concerned that the report was filed late and assure you that this
was not as we intended nor reflects our history.

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

Respectfully,

Katty Meren_

Rafael and Kathy Roman
Managing General Partners
Rocket Transportation

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises” Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014



