

STATE OF WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov

June 26, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary Utilities and Transportation Commission 1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Puget Sound Moving, Inc.

Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TV-140985

Dear Mr. King:

On June 6, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a \$1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-140985 against Puget Sound Moving, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carrier companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. ¹

On June 12, 2014, Puget Sound Moving, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Puget Sound Moving, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company submitted a statement to support the mitigation request which provided the reason for late filing due to accounting information not being available until the end of May. The company acknowledges the commission does provide an opportunity for extension requests and will utilize that process in the future.

It is the company's responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated household goods companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 29, 2014, Puget Sound Moving, Inc. filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory fees and late payment penalty. The company has been active since March 30, 2010. No previous violations of WAC 480-15-180 are on commission record. Staff supports the

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

UTC Annual Reports June 26, 2014 Page 2

company's request for mitigation as this is the company's first delinquent filing. Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of \$200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director Administrative Services

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140985 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Puget Sound Moving, Inc. 1316 Central Ave South #220 Kent, WA 98032

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carrier companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Puget Sound Moving, Inc. has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- · Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- · Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15-450 to cancel your permit to operate as a household goods carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 6, 2014.

MARGUERITE E. FRIEDLANDER Administrative Law Judge

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140985

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:				
	[]Enc	losed \$	in payment of	f the penalty	
	[] Submitted my payment of \$ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is				
[] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:				
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:				
OR		an administrative	law judge for a de	ce on the information I p cision ed solely on the informa	
				State of Washington tha ents, is true and correct.	t the foregoing,
Dated: _		[montl	n/day/year], at		_[city, state]
	f Respond	dent (company) – pl	ease print	Signature of Applic	ant
RCW 9. "Perjury proceed	A.72.020: v in the fir ing he ma	: rst degree. (1) A per akes a materially fal:	se statement which	rjury in the first degree in the knows to be false un ateriality of the statemen	ider an oath

element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140985

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, und

oath, the following statements. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: [] 1. [] Enclosed \$_____ in payment of the penalty [] Submitted my payment of \$______ online at www.utc.wa My confirmation number is ______. [] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge: Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below: a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision OR [x] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. Dated: 6/6/20/4 [month/day/year], at Kent WA [o RCW 9A.72.020: "Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an

element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014

1316 Central Ave. S. #220

Kent, WA, 98032

RE:

Penalty for late filing, 2013 Annual Report

I ask that the Commission reduce the penalty amount for the late filing of our report. I did file late but I had good reason. I was awaiting accurate numbers from my accounting company. Much of the work is done at the same time as my taxes. The company I used had to file for an extension and I was pressing to get the essential information to include all of it in my report. I was hard pressed to get the information I needed prior to the end of May. I anticipated having everything complete by mid April to then prepare the report. One thing after another and the individuals in charge of my accounting were not available. I realize I did not file an extension which if this happens again, I will take advantage of that opportunity. I simply didn't have all of the data to provide. Please consider this when making your decision. I would certainly appreciate some relief.

Cirdan Imbler

Owner

Puget Sound Moving

cimbler@psmoving.com

2014 JUN 12 AM 8:0

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of Puget Sound Moving's Mitigation Request received on June 12, 2014