STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

July 7, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Puget Services, L.L.C.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TV-140984
Dear Mr. King:

On June 6, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TV-140984 against Puget Services, L.L.C. (dba Eco-Movers) for 10
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carrier companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each
year.!

On June 20, 2014, Puget Services L.L.C. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, Puget Services L.L.C. does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “We admit that we did not complete our
annual report in full but ask the commission to consider mitigating factors in this case. Eco-
Movers did mail out the annual report on May 1% but was contacted by Amy Andrews of the
UTC on May 6, 2014 letting us know the we had not entered our intrastate mileage. We send the
intrastate mileage to Amy on 5/14/14.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated household goods companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the
annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay
the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014
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On May 6, 2014, Puget Services, L.L.C. filed an incomplete 2013 annual report and paid the
regulatory fees and late payment penalty on May 6 and May 13 respectively. On May 14, 2014,
Puget Services, L.L.C. submitted the completed 2013 annual report data. The company has been

active since March 8, 2010. The company was delinquent in filing the 2012 annual report and
received an automatic mitigation to $25 per day. Staff does not support the company’s request
for mitigation due to prior violation of WAC 480-15-480. However, as the completed annual
report was received as of May 14, 2014, commission staff does recommend the penalty be
reduced to $900 to reflect the correct number of business day of the delinquent report.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMNMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140984
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Puget Services, LLC
1600 West Armory Way #16
Seattle, WA 98119

According to Washingfon Utilities and Transportation Commission {Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1.
You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
£100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a confinuing violation, every day’'s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 bevond May 1 as a
continning violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each dav a company fails to file its report
or pay ifs regulatory fees after that date.

As aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carrier companies
registered m Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form
instructed these companies fo file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1. 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by
Mayv 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file
wyour annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Puget Services, LLC has not filed its complete 2013 annual
report. May 15 1s 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of
$1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material 1ssues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must imnclude a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure fo
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWE1 .04 405,

If vou properly present yvour request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting vour dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notifiy vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
» Request mitigation fo contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after vou receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attornev General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15-450 to cancel your permit to
operate as a household goods carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olyvmpia. Washington, and effective June &, 2014.

MARGUERITE E. FRIEDLANDER
Administrative Law Judge

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140084

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and vnderstand RCW 94 72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
mafters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[ 1L Pavment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of § online at www.utc wa. gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestforahearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penaltv should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OF [ ]1b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, 1s true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/vear], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person 15 guilfy of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) EKnowledge of the materiality of the stafement 15 not an
element of this crime. and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material 15 not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree 1s a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014



ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140984

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false s
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under==

oath, the following statements. .
[ 11 Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violations occurred. I have: “::
[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the penalty | n‘]
[ 1Submitted my paymentof$ online at \ﬂ-":'-"a-'.i.lti:J-l-fzt.:.:l.:rlv‘."J

My confirmation number is

[ 12. Requestforahearing, I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

D{j 3. Application for mitigation. [ admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

= PLEMSE OFE ATTACHED STATEMERT =

[ 12 TIaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [')(j b) 1ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above,
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is frue and correct.

Dated: [/} j{' Al [month/day/year], at | enTle LJ»‘ [city, state]

(:’! [ k""‘ Fei® b —.
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature o icant '

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of pegjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an cath
reguired or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014



6/15/14

To Whom it May Concern,
RE: Penalty Assessment Tv-140984

We admit that we did not complete our annual report In full but ask the commission to consider
mitigating factors in this case. Eco-Movers did mail out the annual report on May 1% but was contacted
by Amy Andrews of the UTC on May 6, 2014 letting us know the we had not entered our intrastate
mileage. We sent the intrastate mileage to Amy on 5/14/14,

This was the only part of the annual report that was not submitted and we please ask the
commission to reduce the penalty as this was unfortunately an over site and we fully intended on
including all information in our annual report. Attached is the email correspondence between our
company and Amy Andrews, Thank You for your consideration in this matter.

Grant Korzetz, Owner

Puget Services Inc, (206) 992-5523

Incomplete Annual Report Notification for Puget Services Inc

Actions
Andrews, Amy (UTC) (aandrews@utc.wa.gov) =
5/14/14 =

g

Thank you!

e

sl 1
e

Any Andrewy

Fiscal Analyst

Milities & Transportation Commission
FO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250
®360.664.1157

£:360.664.1289

Swww. utc.wa. gov

Bl

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014



Eco Maovers

5/14/14
Tor Andrews, Amy

Hi Amy,

We apologize or overlooking the total intrastate mileage on our annual report. The total
miles we operated in 2013 is 42,530 Miles. Please let us know if you need anything else.

Thank you,

Grant Korzetz

Eco-Movers

(206) 992-5523
WWW.BCOMOVErsmoving.com

Actions

Andrews, Amy (UTC) (aandrews@utcwa.gov)
5/06/14

To: ecomovers@hotmail com

Co aandrews @t wa.gov

Dear Regulated Company,

On February 28, 2014 the Utilities and Transportation Commission {commission) mailed you an
Annual Report. The report and fees are due by May 1, 2014.

A review of your annual report submitted May &, 2014 indicates it is incomplete.

*» Schedule 1 = Intrastate mileage not provided
Commission staff may recommend enforcement action, which includes penalties of up to 5100
per day, against any company that does not file a completed annual report. In order to avoid
enforcement action, the commission must receive your completed report no later than May 1,

2014,

If you have any questions about your annual report please call me at (360) 664-1157 or e-mail
at gandrews@utc.wa.gov.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 6, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Puget Service’s Mitigation Request received on June 20, 2014



