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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


June 16, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc.

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TV-140957

Dear Mr. King:

On June 5, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-140957 against Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carrier companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 6, 2014, Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “…I would ask that that penalty be removed or mitigated to zero, as it was an oversight on my part…”.  The statement continues, “I am usually reminded when I receive the annual report forms and fee packets from the Commission via mail.  However, the Commission used an old address that the post office no longer forwards from.  I understand it is my responsibility to submit the report on time and that the mailing of the packages is not the sole source of how an annual report is available to file.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated charter and excursion companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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[bookmark: _GoBack]On May 28, 2014, Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. filed the 2013 annual report and timely paid the required regulatory fees and late payment penalty.  The company has been active since August 18, 2005.  No previous violations of WAC 480-15-480 are on commission record.  Staff supports the company’s request for mitigation as this is the company’s first delinquent filing.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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ATTACHMENT B
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 5, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Evergreen Transfer & Storage’s Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 5, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Evergreen Transfer & Storage’s Mitigation Request received on June 6, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140957

Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc
8576 SW Warrior Drive
Port Orchard, WA 98367

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household.
‘2oods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1
You did not file an annual repart or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-430 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carrier companies
registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1. 2014, The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by
May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file
‘your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. has not filed its 2013
‘annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1, resulting in 2 total penalty of $1.000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing o in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include  written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS1.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftorey General for collection, which may file suit in tate court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15450 to cancel your permit to
operate as 2 household goods carrier in Washington.

'DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 5, 2014

DENNIS 1. MOSS
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and  have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed§. in payment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material s not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessmen. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is @ lass B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to estify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. Tadmit that the violations occurred. 1 have:
[ JEnclosed s in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of S online at www.ute.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. Ibelieve that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, for the reasons I describe below, and I requesta hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

)ﬂ 13, Application for mitigation. T admit the violations, but T believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 14) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [Jgf b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information T provide
above.
T declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information 1 have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: _06/05/14. [month/day/ycar], at_Bremertor; Wh N [city, statc]
Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc. 4
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Sighttre. ‘ant

RCW 94.72.020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the fist degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows (0 be false under an oath.
required or authorized by law. (3) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree s a class B felony.”
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Evergreen Transfer & Storage, Inc.

8576 SW Warrior Dilve / Bremerton, WA 98367
Phone: (360) 674-2628 / Fox: (360) 6743628

5 June 2014

To Whom it May Concern at the Washington Utilties and Transportation Commission,

Thisis in response to your letter dated 5 June 2014 NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION. Please
find enclosed Evergreen Transfer & Storage annual assessment TV-140957.

In regard to the enforcement penalty, | would ask that that penalty be removed or miigated to
ze0, as it was an oversight on my part and the additional 2% penalty on my late Regulatory Fee has
been paid. | am usualy reminded when | receive the annual report forms and fee packets from the
Commission via mall. However, the Commission used an old address that the post office no longer
forwards from. The Industrial park where our main corporae offices are located was annexed by the
ity of Bremerton in 2008 and the address was documented as changed on my annual reports sarti
2010. 1 was not aware of any other method of informing the Commission of an address change in this
Kind of crcumstance. | understand it Is my responsibiliy to submit the report on time and that mailing
of the packages is not the sole source of how an annual reportIs available to fil. | do feel this matter
can be handled without taking up the time of the administrative law judge.

Certainly in view of the frail condition of the economy | would rather ot have penalties added
to my botto line and do not take these matters lightly. 1 would appreciate your consideration for
mitigation and contiaued dialogue about how to prevent these situations In the future, possibly to
Incluce an electronic iing and remindier system versus relying on the postal system with hard coples.

‘Again thankk you in advance for your consideration in this matter.

ve
Timothy D Katona

President

Evergreen Transfer & Storage
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